Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Vendors > Holmes Hobbies
Loading

Notices

Thread: (HH) Tech Questions and Customer support thread

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2008, 09:30 AM   #1081
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 20,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Locked Up View Post
Here comes stupid question #2....

Rotate it how? I must be missing something. There are 2 set screws & no other holes available ... do I need to drill new holes for the screws or do I just manhandle the whole thing and the metal ring the screws go into will rotate?
Loosen the two little screws, then the endbell will rotate. It might take some force. The endbell will come off at a 45* angle from where it normally sits.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Locked Up View Post
As far as timing advance/retard...

Looking at the motor from the top, lets say that under forward power it rotates clockwise. Does that mean that rotating the endbell a hair clockwise would be advancing or retarding the timing?
That would retard the timing. Advancing the timing is just like a car, it will fire sooner. So if the motor rotates clockwise you need to rotate the endbell counterclockwise for advanced timing.
JohnRobHolmes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Old 09-30-2008, 03:28 PM   #1082
09 RCA champ!
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Acworth, Ga
Posts: 966
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnRobHolmes View Post
It needs to be a mini USB on the MM side, just bring the MM in to the store.



ahhh yes, i see it nowthanks for the help
rednck21 is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 06:07 PM   #1083
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 63
Default

On your Elite Packs do the wires come with plugs installed or are the just plain wire. Just ordered them and didn't think to ask before ordering it to see if i could have them installed on them thanks
Texas Rebel is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 08:52 PM   #1084
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 20,284
Default

Deans are installed.
JohnRobHolmes is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 08:56 PM   #1085
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnRobHolmes View Post
Deans are installed.
Thanks a ton!!!! That'll save the batts from some horrible soldering

It's not that i suck I'M just not good Thanks again for the great service/expertise you provide.
Texas Rebel is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 08:00 AM   #1086
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 130
Default Few Questions

My first question is on the noob side:
What is the difference between an inrunner and outrunner brushless?

I would also like a recommendation:
I run an Axial w/ r2D trans. No major mods otherwise. I'm running a 55t Integy right now. 8 cells nimh (and a 6 cell spare) with No plans on going to lipo yet.
I was thinking of switching to brushless-any recommendation on an esc and motor combo? My other thought was going with one of your brushed handwound (35t or 45t). I don't need a ton more wheelspeed right now, but would be nice to have more than my 55t has now.
My budget isn't very big, so please keep that in mind.
Thanks for your time, and I look forward to doing business with you.
raceplus is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 10:51 AM   #1087
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 219
Default

I have a DMG Dcv/pro chassis and I want a new setup on it. Space is very limited and im running a r2d tranny. Id like to add more power to the crawler so i can get more wheelspin. What would you recommed?
Atchley is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 11:18 PM   #1088
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: drillin Holes for the man
Posts: 2,736
Default

Hey John! On an 8 cell 2/3a pack is it better to trickle charge every time or should I only do it every several charges? Also after break in what should I be charging them at? I have been charging them at 1.5amp/30mV. And for break in I have been charging them at .5amp/20mV. Does thid sound right? Thanks for the help.
bigflex is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 01:06 AM   #1089
Rock Crawler
 
tuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 977
Default

When will the TorqueMaster Mini's be back in stock? And what do you think about these motors for the losi mini http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXGLK3&P=0
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXVDV1&P=7

Last edited by tuner; 10-07-2008 at 01:11 AM.
tuner is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 11:06 PM   #1090
SCALE PERFORMANCE PARTS
 
Locked Up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cedar Park
Posts: 5,365
Default

JRH,

I have one of your 45t 540 handwounds, Novak XXtra, CC Sidewinder and CC BEC. I have noticed that when the truck binds badly it will sometimes just stall/freeze. The servos and throttle will freeze doing whatever they were doing (staying turned and throttle running, etc). So I'm guessing that means the RX is shutting down?

I'm running 8 cell NIMH Elite cells. DO you think it would it help me to swap to an 11.1v Lipo like one of these?:
http://holmeshobbies.com/product.php...&cat=22&page=1


Should that battery and a Sidewinder suffice for my crawling needs with the 45t handwound?


Thanks

Last edited by Locked Up; 10-07-2008 at 11:14 PM.
Locked Up is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 06:33 AM   #1091
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 20,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raceplus View Post
My first question is on the noob side:
What is the difference between an inrunner and outrunner brushless?

I would also like a recommendation:
I run an Axial w/ r2D trans. No major mods otherwise. I'm running a 55t Integy right now. 8 cells nimh (and a 6 cell spare) with No plans on going to lipo yet.
I was thinking of switching to brushless-any recommendation on an esc and motor combo? My other thought was going with one of your brushed handwound (35t or 45t). I don't need a ton more wheelspeed right now, but would be nice to have more than my 55t has now.
My budget isn't very big, so please keep that in mind.
Thanks for your time, and I look forward to doing business with you.
If you want to keep a budget, simply swapping to a 45t integy would be a great change. If you want a bit more torque too, a handwound would get you there.

A brushless inrunner spins the inside of the motor. A brushless outrunner spins the outside of the motor. Simple as that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atchley View Post
I have a DMG Dcv/pro chassis and I want a new setup on it. Space is very limited and im running a r2d tranny. Id like to add more power to the crawler so i can get more wheelspin. What would you recommed?
A lower wind brushed motor will be the easiest bet, or you can add more voltage. You also have the choice of running a larger pinion. I would use voltage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigflex View Post
Hey John! On an 8 cell 2/3a pack is it better to trickle charge every time or should I only do it every several charges? Also after break in what should I be charging them at? I have been charging them at 1.5amp/30mV. And for break in I have been charging them at .5amp/20mV. Does thid sound right? Thanks for the help.
Every 10 charges it is good to trickle it around .1 or .2 amps. Otherwise it looks like you are taking great care of your pack!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gs tunner View Post
When will the TorqueMaster Mini's be back in stock? And what do you think about these motors for the losi mini http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXGLK3&P=0
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXVDV1&P=7
The mini's should be in around first of next week.

The motors you linked to are too big for the losi.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Locked Up View Post
JRH,

I have one of your 45t 540 handwounds, Novak XXtra, CC Sidewinder and CC BEC. I have noticed that when the truck binds badly it will sometimes just stall/freeze. The servos and throttle will freeze doing whatever they were doing (staying turned and throttle running, etc). So I'm guessing that means the RX is shutting down?

I'm running 8 cell NIMH Elite cells. DO you think it would it help me to swap to an 11.1v Lipo like one of these?:
http://holmeshobbies.com/product.php...&cat=22&page=1


Should that battery and a Sidewinder suffice for my crawling needs with the 45t handwound?


Thanks

Everything sounds good actually. I would be suspect of your CC BEC dropping in voltage when you get bound up. You may try running removing the BEC and running the RX from the internal BEC power. Then add your CC BEC direct to the servo via a Y harness.
JohnRobHolmes is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 07:15 AM   #1092
SCALE PERFORMANCE PARTS
 
Locked Up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cedar Park
Posts: 5,365
Default

Something like this?



When the motor draws to much power would the CC BEC still shut down? If so, wouldn't it help me to have move volts available?


Thanks for your help on all of this.

Last edited by Locked Up; 10-08-2008 at 07:25 AM.
Locked Up is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 07:25 AM   #1093
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 20,284
Default

8 cells shouldn't get that low on voltage, unless you have a bad cell in there.

Diagram looks great.
JohnRobHolmes is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 03:47 PM   #1094
09 RCA champ!
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Acworth, Ga
Posts: 966
Default

is this the correct adapter i need to balance a flight power lipo with a 0606I charger?

http://holmeshobbies.com/product.php...0&cat=7&page=1
rednck21 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 08:28 PM   #1095
09 RCA champ!
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Acworth, Ga
Posts: 966
Default

also, it has options for balancer type.... XH, HP, TP, EH. what do these options mean? sorry for all the noob questions, i just want to make sure im ordering the right thing
rednck21 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 09:23 PM   #1096
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 20,284
Default

You want the TP type, and that is the adapter you need.
JohnRobHolmes is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 07:27 AM   #1097
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 126
Default

What is a good esc and motor set up for clodbuster axles? I would like to use brushed 55 turn lathe motors. I've used an old EVX for years and now it's timem to update my electronics. Thanks
mnstrbetle is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 08:03 AM   #1098
SCALE PERFORMANCE PARTS
 
Locked Up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cedar Park
Posts: 5,365
Default

JRH,
What kind of continuous and burst amp draw should I expect out of my 45t handwound? What about to stall it?



Gearing is 87/12 w/AX10 tranny/axles if that makes any difference.
Locked Up is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 09:16 AM   #1099
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 21
Default new set up need advice

totally new to rc building two ax 10,xtrail chassies one with f350 one fj40
need some advice on electrics thinking about novak 50 50 roster combo,hitec servo ,futba 4 channel with reciver and going lipo battery. the problem is I don't know anything about the voltage range or set up any help or suggestions would be appericated thanks
dago crawler is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 09:29 AM   #1100
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 20,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mnstrbetle View Post
What is a good esc and motor set up for clodbuster axles? I would like to use brushed 55 turn lathe motors. I've used an old EVX for years and now it's timem to update my electronics. Thanks
A single mamba max or sidewinder would do for dual 55t motors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Locked Up View Post
JRH,
What kind of continuous and burst amp draw should I expect out of my 45t handwound? What about to stall it?



Gearing is 87/12 w/AX10 tranny/axles if that makes any difference.
At full stall a motor will continue to rise in amp draw until either the battery or motor smokes. You could very well see 80 amps or more before stuff got hot. Very doubtful you would get much beyond 40 amps before parts broke however.

For continuous, you will actually use about 2 amps on average. For the battery rating (my guess at what you actually want to hear), I would choose a battery with 30 amps continuous.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dago crawler View Post
totally new to rc building two ax 10,xtrail chassies one with f350 one fj40
need some advice on electrics thinking about novak 50 50 roster combo,hitec servo ,futba 4 channel with reciver and going lipo battery. the problem is I don't know anything about the voltage range or set up any help or suggestions would be appericated thanks

The rooster is limited to 7.4v. You could get a fairly small battery for the setup, something capable of 25 amps continuous would be enough. Everything else sounds great!
JohnRobHolmes is offline  
Closed Thread



(HH) Tech Questions and Customer support thread - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba customer support XJkid93 Chit Chat 6 07-24-2012 06:07 PM
ZNO-RC Customer Support ZNO-RC Redcat Crawlers 28 03-20-2012 08:44 PM
axial customer support/service THANKS! superflex General Crawlers 6 01-31-2011 08:40 PM
airtronics customer support dlamb11877sf Electronics 0 04-13-2010 10:04 AM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com