Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > HPI Venture
Loading

Notices

Thread: 550 motor in Venture

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2017, 05:48 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: east michigan
Posts: 269
Default 550 motor in Venture

Well well well......looks like a Holmes hobbies 550 motor may be in its near future. This was for those who wanted to see if it will fit. Looks like it will. You'll have to dremel the motor shaft down, at least on traxxas motors.

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
dwblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-26-2017, 06:15 PM   #2
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: your back yard
Posts: 1,305
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

Mount it up, let's see it. ;)

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
TAT76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2017, 06:17 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: east michigan
Posts: 269
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

Quote:
Originally Posted by TAT76 View Post
Mount it up, let's see it. ;)

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
That's a 12turn Titan. Truck will be way too fast especially on 3s lipo
dwblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2017, 07:07 PM   #4
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: your back yard
Posts: 1,305
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwblue00 View Post
That's a 12turn Titan. Truck will be way too fast especially on 3s lipo
Hold my beer!.


Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
TAT76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2017, 07:10 PM   #5
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: 1972 born Christian, Chinese.
Posts: 1,321
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

12T with 2S Lipo is good enough. No need 3S
Teng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2017, 08:39 PM   #6
I wanna be Dave
 
Natedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Corruptifornia
Posts: 12,107
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwblue00 View Post
Well well well......looks like a Holmes hobbies 550 motor may be in its near future. This was for those who wanted to see if it will fit. Looks like it will. You'll have to dremel the motor shaft down, at least on traxxas motors.
Awesome I was wondering how it would fit!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TAT76 View Post
Mount it up, let's see it. ;)
X2

Quote:
Originally Posted by TAT76 View Post
Hold my beer!.
As stated use the 21T version on 3s and you're golden! I trimmed the motor shaft on both ends and the solder tabs a little to fit that into my Ascender K10.
Natedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2017, 09:01 PM   #7
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: east michigan
Posts: 269
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

Good stuff Natedog!
dwblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 02:30 AM   #8
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: east michigan
Posts: 269
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

Well it's done. Ordered the Holmes hobbies 21turn 550 motor. Now have to wait for it to show up.
dwblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 12:02 PM   #9
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: east michigan
Posts: 269
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

From what research I have done, the 21t 550 is equivalent to a 27turn 540 motor. I'm sure it will have more torque tho.
dwblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 12:41 PM   #10
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: your back yard
Posts: 1,305
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

What are the advantages of the 550 over the 540? Just for torque? Gots to be more efficient, right?
If for torque couldn't you just do a higher turn motor and drop teeth on pinion while keeping weight down?

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
TAT76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 01:13 PM   #11
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: east michigan
Posts: 269
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

Quote:
Originally Posted by TAT76 View Post
What are the advantages of the 550 over the 540? Just for torque? Gots to be more efficient, right?
If for torque couldn't you just do a higher turn motor and drop teeth on pinion while keeping weight down?

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
550 has more torque. It's a larger motor over a 540, not larger in diameter but in armature and can length. Not all higher wind motors have more torque. Go to YouTube and look up Holmes hobbies and he covers brushed and brushless motors in almost it's entirety.

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
dwblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 11:05 PM   #12
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: east michigan
Posts: 269
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

Look what came in today! Now to install!

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
dwblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 11:10 PM   #13
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: east michigan
Posts: 269
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwblue00 View Post
Look what came in today! Now to install!

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
Stock powerplant removed. Now to install new powerplant!

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
dwblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 11:21 PM   #14
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: east michigan
Posts: 269
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

HH 550 installed. Now to solder it up.

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
dwblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 11:41 PM   #15
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: east michigan
Posts: 269
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

Soldered up and ready to roll! Can't wait to see how much more torque it has over the stock motor.

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
dwblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 08:35 AM   #16
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: your back yard
Posts: 1,305
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

That's freaking sweet, huge but sweet! Nice clean install. How much room do you have to the grill of the body?

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
TAT76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 09:10 AM   #17
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: east michigan
Posts: 269
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

Quote:
Originally Posted by TAT76 View Post
That's freaking sweet, huge but sweet! Nice clean install. How much room do you have to the grill of the body?

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
Plenty of room between motor and body!

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
dwblue00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2018, 06:29 PM   #18
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Humboldt county
Posts: 4,467
Default Re: 550 motor in Venture

What I'm curious about for anyone running a 550 sized motor is what is the smallest pinion you can fit before the motor is hitting the crossmember.

My brother put a HH Revolver in his Venture and when he tried to use a 12T pinion the motor ended up on the crossmember, not good for a outrunner. The revolver motor is a bit smaller in size than the 550 but its closer to that than a 540.

Anyway it seems like to really be able to gear down with a 550 or similar sized motor that a redesign of the crossmember might be in order. I might try to design something I can 3D print unless I'm missing something obvious.


HumboldtEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



550 motor in Venture - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why am I stuck on a 550 motor ? SouthernComfort Axial Wraith 3 01-26-2015 09:54 PM
550 size motor? Jones323 Axial AX-10 Scorpion 2 11-17-2008 04:04 PM
Anyone tried the revolver 550 motor? pbfrk4life Electronics 11 03-15-2007 09:52 AM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com