Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > HPI Wheely King

Notices

Thread: Which Wheely King

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2008, 11:28 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Which Wheely King

I want to build a Wheely King Crawler - Looks like the prebuilt WK kit with an HPI crawler conversion would be the best way to go?

WK prebuilt kit with no electronics $135.99
HPI Crawler conversion for WK $49.99

I am brand new to crawling and looking for a starter rig. I have an extra speed control,radio and reciever so my question is - does this sound like a good way to go? Also - the prebuilt WK with no electronics is four wheel and the RTR one is two wheel drive right?

Thanks lwarc
lwarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-24-2008, 11:41 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

The rtr WK that I started with was 4WD..It looks to me that the RTR and the preassembled WK w/ no electronics are both 4WD. The only stock parts left on the truck after my crawler build are the axle housings! i didnt use the HPI conv. kit, so i dont know anything about it..
billysnarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 12:38 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder

get the one with the crawler kit on it . i am new to this as well an i wish thats what i would have done. then if you wish you can add a comp chasis an u have it all . it will save you money i think an you have something to play with in the mean time
randy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 01:07 PM   #4
Pebble Pounder

OH - I didn't know you could get it with the kit pre installed. I don't mind installing the kit myself if it will save me a few bucks. I will check it out - Thanks.
Old 10-24-2008, 02:31 PM   #5
Rock Crawler

Quote:
Originally Posted by randy1 View Post