Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > HPI Wheely King
Loading

Notices

Thread: What Zippy Lipo battery fits a Crawler King? Or whats your favorite 2c lipo battery?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2009, 12:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 46
Default What Zippy Lipo battery fits a Crawler King? Or whats your favorite 2c lipo battery?

Finalizing my grocery list for my crawler king. All I have to do is pick a battery and order. Putting a sidewinder speed control and running the stock crawler king motor to start. I am going lipo 2c to start out. 3c looks good too but it is more expensive and I am afraid I will tear crap up really fast with a 3c which I don't want to do right away since this is my first venture back into RC in 20 years.

What do you all run for batteries? I heard Zippy is a great battery for the money as they are cheap. Any opinions? Please give specific size you run and not just the brand.

How about this one?
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s..._25C_Lipo_Pack

Going to run a stock motor 55t 540, sidewinder esc, and most likely a hitech high torque servo (have not picked the server yet).

Last edited by phunkodelic; 06-20-2009 at 12:58 PM.
phunkodelic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-20-2009, 02:00 PM   #2
Just jump it!
 
rottenbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cedar City, Utah
Posts: 1,947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phunkodelic View Post
Finalizing my grocery list for my crawler king. All I have to do is pick a battery and order. Putting a sidewinder speed control and running the stock crawler king motor to start. I am going lipo 2c to start out. 3c looks good too but it is more expensive and I am afraid I will tear crap up really fast with a 3c which I don't want to do right away since this is my first venture back into RC in 20 years.

What do you all run for batteries? I heard Zippy is a great battery for the money as they are cheap. Any opinions? Please give specific size you run and not just the brand.

How about this one?
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s..._25C_Lipo_Pack

Going to run a stock motor 55t 540, sidewinder esc, and most likely a hitech high torque servo (have not picked the server yet).
That should fit fine in the stock location. Probably get about 35 minutes of run time with a 55 turn motor.

If you get a high torque servo with that sidewinder you are going to want to add a castle bec to the list!!!!!!
rottenbelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 11:38 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 46
Default

>>If you get a high torque servo with that sidewinder you are going to want to add a castle bec to the list!!!!!! <<

Why? Does the servo and speed controler drain the reciver batteries a whole bunch?

Is there a good servo to use that is not high torque that is easier on batteries but will still do the trick? I know what a BEC is but what are the advantages of running one?

Last edited by phunkodelic; 06-21-2009 at 11:45 AM.
phunkodelic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 01:12 PM   #4
Just jump it!
 
rottenbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cedar City, Utah
Posts: 1,947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phunkodelic View Post
>>If you get a high torque servo with that sidewinder you are going to want to add a castle bec to the list!!!!!! <<

Why? Does the servo and speed controler drain the reciver batteries a whole bunch?

Is there a good servo to use that is not high torque that is easier on batteries but will still do the trick? I know what a BEC is but what are the advantages of running one?
The high torque servo will pull to many amps for most esc's built in bec's. Causeing them to freeze up or glitch.
With a bec you can wire your servo directly to the battery. (castle bec come preset at 5.3 volts I believe) That way it doesnt draw power off the built in bec in the esc. Most built in becs on esc's are only 1.5 to 3 amps, which just isnt enough for a high torque servo.
A rooster esc has a 5 amp bec and would power a Jr 8711 with 400+ oz of torque, but as soon as i added a dig servo it would freeze up.

A servo like the Jr 8711 has 350 is oz of torque at 4.8 volts and 400 + at 6 volts. That is were the bec is nice because you can feed it 6 volts from the battery With all the amp draw it needs, not the 1.5 amps at 5 volts off the esc.

Hope that helps some.
There are alot of threads on this in the electronics section if you want to research more on this.

I use the hitec 645 and the tower pro 995 servos on my sons rig and they do ok without a bec. They have around 150 to 200 oz of torque.
rottenbelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 11:08 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 46
Default

Thanks man! Great info.
phunkodelic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 11:05 AM   #6
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 196
Default

I'm running Nicd's right now but I'll probably run a Turnigy 5000 mah 2s 20C...heard some great reviews about them about them...and this pack is apparantly the same size as a std 7.2V pack.
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s..._20C_Lipo_Pack

I too am running a Sidewinder with a Hitec 645MG but find that it glitches once in awhile. Gonna try a castle BEC and hopefully helps.
Just gotta say...I love my Sidewinder and servo. A huge improvement over the stock parts.
Evandiego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 11:19 AM   #7
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 63
Default

Here is what I am running and it works great and fits perfectly.

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idproduct=8357

BTW evandiego the servo will twitch anyways if its an analog servo try a digital servo instead.

Last edited by illz302; 07-21-2009 at 11:24 AM.
illz302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 12:35 PM   #8
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by illz302 View Post
Here is what I am running and it works great and fits perfectly.

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idproduct=8357

BTW evandiego the servo will twitch anyways if its an analog servo try a digital servo instead.
Sorry I don't mean to jack this thread....

Ohhh...the servo actually works great but its my Sidewinder esc glitching. I've heard on here that using the internal BEC will cause the Sidewinder to operate erratically. In my case it glitches when 15 to 20 feet away from me. I'll install an external Castle BEC and if that doesn't solve the problem then a new radio it is!

Last edited by Evandiego; 07-21-2009 at 12:36 PM. Reason: clarification
Evandiego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 03:07 PM   #9
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evandiego View Post
Sorry I don't mean to jack this thread....

Ohhh...the servo actually works great but its my Sidewinder esc glitching. I've heard on here that using the internal BEC will cause the Sidewinder to operate erratically. In my case it glitches when 15 to 20 feet away from me. I'll install an external Castle BEC and if that doesn't solve the problem then a new radio it is!
Oh sorry I must have misunderstood your post.
illz302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 02:56 PM   #10
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by illz302 View Post
Oh sorry I must have misunderstood your post.

I figured...it's cool.
Evandiego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 01:56 PM   #11
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 196
Default

The size of a standard 6 cell NiMH pack is about 137 mm long x 48 mm wide x 24 mm high (5.4" W x 1.85" W x 0.94" H). Give or take couple mm depending on who makes it. I think the stock battery box on the WK/CK can accomodate a slightly longer pack but width wise its pretty tight. Toight like a toiger.

I'm using this to determine what size Lipo fits in mine too.
I found these:
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idproduct=9465

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idproduct=9435

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idproduct=8933
Evandiego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 05:58 PM   #12
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evandiego View Post
The size of a standard 6 cell NiMH pack is about 137 mm long x 48 mm wide x 24 mm high (5.4" W x 1.85" W x 0.94" H). Give or take couple mm depending on who makes it. I think the stock battery box on the WK/CK can accomodate a slightly longer pack but width wise its pretty tight. Toight like a toiger.

I'm using this to determine what size Lipo fits in mine too.
I found these:
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idproduct=9465

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idproduct=9435

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idproduct=8933
The second one is going to be the best one if it fits which by looking at the measurements it should.
illz302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 08:38 PM   #13
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 347
Default

This hard case one is nice!
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=9437

This might be nice also cause the wires i believe plug into the top
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=8357

I have this for my slash and it fits the WK box but i just need to cut alittle where the wires come up and then it fits with room to spare!
http://www.promatchracing.com/products.php?cat=21
Cableman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 10:28 AM   #14
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 196
Default

I just got my Turnigy 3S 3000 mah Lipo yesterday and it's awesome! http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=9265
This pack on its first balance charge was within +/- 0.01 volts between the three cells. From what I can see and feel it's built quite nicely and comes with heavy duty 10 awg wires and std balancer plugs. It comes with 4 mm gold bullet connecters. I didn't want to solder 10 awg wires on to Deans plugs as that would probably prove a bit difficult so I made my own adapter with female deans on 1 end to hook up with esc and 4 mm bullets on the other for battery.
Size is same as a standard 6 cell pack and fits perfectly in the stock Wheely/Crawler King batt box.
Can't really say how long run times are but I can comment on the punch. I'm glad I went with 3S. Still have perfect slow control but now I have the wheel speed! I just had to configure punch control on my esc...less chance of breaking stuff. You can't beat the price...so I'm gonna buy more!
Evandiego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 07:14 PM   #15
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Greensburg PA
Posts: 412
Default lipo

I run an Integy 2s 7.4v 5000mah lipo with a sidewinder 5700kv motor & ESC with a high torque servo and it works great no glitches at all and i get about 25 min runs.
chongdigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 02:10 AM   #16
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wetlands
Posts: 1,014
Default

Be ready for th 3s li-po power. You will never go lesser cel's after you have gon atleast three cells.
Da Hermit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 12:38 AM   #17
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Hermit View Post
Be ready for th 3s li-po power. You will never go lesser cel's after you have gon atleast three cells.
Yup not going less than 3S now! Unless when my nephews want to crawl with my WK or bash with my buggy then it's safer to go with 2S.
Evandiego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 12:38 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waynesville,Ohio
Posts: 9
Default Crawler king gear reduction!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by phunkodelic View Post
Finalizing my grocery list for my crawler king. All I have to do is pick a battery and order. Putting a sidewinder speed control and running the stock crawler king motor to start. I am going lipo 2c to start out. 3c looks good too but it is more expensive and I am afraid I will tear crap up really fast with a 3c which I don't want to do right away since this is my first venture back into RC in 20 years.

What do you all run for batteries? I heard Zippy is a great battery for the money as they are cheap. Any opinions? Please give specific size you run and not just the brand.

How about this one?
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s..._25C_Lipo_Pack

Going to run a stock motor 55t 540, sidewinder esc, and most likely a hitech high torque servo (have not picked the server yet).


Hey you must get the gear reduction for this if you plan to craw imo
ezralane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 11:39 PM   #19
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezralane View Post
Hey you must get the gear reduction for this if you plan to craw imo
Yeah great idea on the HPI gear reduction box if thats what you mean but I went with the 96t spur and a 16t pinion and it has great torque! I also like the fact that I can switch between my 21t, 19t, and 16t to suit the desired terrain. I'm running a 3s lipo now and get some awesome wheel speed. However, tonight I was crawling and got one of my front tires in a bind. Tried to shake it loose and ended up breaking an dogbone . The 3s does give the motor lots of power so I'll just have to be more mindful when the wheels are in a bind.

Just a note on the Turnigy 3s 3000 mah I'm running...balanced it and ran my rig for over an hour and a half and still has juice in it!
Evandiego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 01:29 PM   #20
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 196
Default

Because I get insane run times on my 3s 3000 mah Turnigy lipos, I would suggest going down to a 3s 1300 mah or a 3s 1500 mah Turnigy lipo. It's light and (100 to 130 grams vs. 270 grams for 3000 mah Turnigy) you would still get decent 30 min to 40 min run times.
You could go with these for nice wheel speed which are about 116g
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=8936

If you still want to go the 2s route they are even lighter...this one is 97g
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=9166

Having the lighter packs is a huge advantage if you're using the stock battery box like me cuz the CG is pretty high. Yeah I could mount it on the links or axle but I'd like to keep a somewhat stock/scale look.

Just my two cents for today.
Evandiego is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com