Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > HPI Wheely King

Notices

Thread: Crawler King Shocks/steering servo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2011, 08:49 AM   #1

Default Crawler King Shocks/steering servo

Well, after just 1 weekend playing with my new CK, looks as if I have busted my front left shock. Oh well. I was already looking to upgrade shocks and springs anyways. Any suggestions?

Also, I am wanting to go ahead and upgrade to the center mount steering servo mod, by using the East End Machining diff mount. What other linkages will I need to perform this? I will also, at the same time modify the plastic steering linkages to metal. I feel the plastic is quite flimsy, and along with the poor servo placement, affects steering quite heavily as well.

Thanks in advance!
vtelvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-03-2011, 10:00 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder

I am a new owner of a used CK so I'm new to crawling but not to Rc. The first thing i did was to replace the steering! I've never seen a funkier set up that what is stock! I got the template from this forum and made my axle mount and I used 8/32 all thread and 1/4 in brass tubing with large tmaxx rod ends. I used brass because its all i could find at the time and so far has held up wonderfully and its easy to cut with a small tubing cutter (the kind used for copper pipes). I also made the rear steer lock outs and four link suspension brackets and rods. The four link nearly eliminates torque twist, I would highly recomend this mod!
Very easy to do with simple tools and the parts are cheap. I think all of it was under 20 bucks including hardware- I had to use 4-40 because 3mm is hard to come by around here for some reason but it works just fine with no noticeable slop. So far so good with my stock shocks but I also see alluminum shocks in the near future.
Still trying to get pics posted here! Ahh figured it out!