Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > HPI Wheely King

Notices

Thread: Crawler King....My 1st crawler build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2012, 10:12 AM   #1
wyd
Rock Crawler

I'm a newbie to the crawler world but been racing R/C for 25 years. I have ran Dirt Oval, Offroad, Touring Cars, fly some airplanes and helis so I do have experiance.

I wanted a cheap fun crawler that wouldn't break the bank that I could put a few improvements on and just go have fun. I didn't need the best crawler out as I will not be competing so this is where the Crawler King comes in play. Looks like a reliable crawler and I have had lots of experiance with HPI products over the years and never have had any problems so I stuck with a brand I know.

The CK will be here Wed. Here is what I plan for it for starters and will determine if I need anything else.

STRC Steering kit
Futaba 451 Brushless servo w/Futaba 4PL radio
Aluminum servo horn
HPI Threaded aluminum shocks
Castle Creations SV2 esc
HPI 73 Bronco Body (Fat Head Designs to custom paint)

I plan in the next week or two some new tires (not 100% on what I want) but looking at a few brands and some Crawler Innovations 2 stage foam inserts.

After this I just plan to run the crawler with some buddies and do what the truck was made for and have FUN.

Pictures will be posted by the end of the week. Any suggestions or ideas are always welcome. Can't wait to get started into crawling. I have a ton of places nearby to go so that is even better.

Just ordered my Crawler Innovations Double Deuce tire inserts. Just need to order tires and some rims and I will be ready to go plus I will have an extra set of tires as I can keep my stock ones or I will take them apart and use the rims and just buy new tires.

My tires choices are the following. HB Rovers, PL Chisels, J Concepts Rocx, or HB Sedonas.