Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > HPI Wheely King

Notices

Thread: noob droop question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2007, 07:27 AM   #1

Question noob droop question

Hey guys, noob here, so bare with me. Anyway, I have a WK 4x4 on a SW 2 currently. stock electronics, 65 T motor, pede tranny, soon to be WK tranny & clocked motor plate, 9/93 gearing, 12.5 inch wheel base, custom links, narrowed HPI stock rims, Mashers, BTA steering, custom rear axel plate to match front, and I have a tuber almost ready. I have done my homework and thanks to all those who have posted such great ideas and templates! My Question is: How do you set up a shock for droop and how vertical should they be? I have read with the "search" feature and I understand why it works just not sure how to assemble the shock to preform this. I have stock WK shocks for now and was going to run SAE 30 motor oil instead of shock oil. What size and strength should the inner springs be and where do they go? any advise would be great and hopefully I will have pics soon!
jason3114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-16-2007, 11:02 AM   #2
20K Club

I am working on my first full droop setup right now but this is what i "know":

Run the lightest springs you can find, put them in the shock body first then insert the piston. This will "compress" the shock at rest.

Or JIA used 1000wt diff oil ONLY in the King Bling WK Tuber. He seemed to like it, so that is another route for you to go.

On a side note, I would keep the pede tranny.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 11:40 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

I'm playing with Savage shocks on my stock wb truck as a drooper, I'll keep things up to date as I get the time.
BJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2007, 03:44 AM   #4
Pebble Pounder