Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Kyosho Crawlers

Notices

Thread: axle width?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2007, 11:45 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default axle width?

im a student at itt tech for engineering and im building a scale tuber but im limited to what scale i can design it by the axles. ive considered having some machined from my CAD drawing. im looking for a overall dimension of 2'x3' i read in here that the TF axles are 14"? any recomandations on getting the width from outside the tires to 24".

im building a scale poison spyder bruiser chassis
going for 1/5 or 1/6 scale
wheelbase about 26"
dual 540 size brushless
lipo

thanks for any help
ati2de22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-13-2007, 02:33 PM   #2
TEAM MODERATOR

Why dual brushless? You'll need 2 trannies then.

Twin axles in stock form are 12" hex to hex. Running 2 longside axles,puts you at 13" How wide do you want the axle itself? Wideners can help but IMHO,that's the worst thing a guy can do to get width. It adds leverage to your knuckles witch creates a failer point IMO. It also adds scrub and kills your steering servo and allot of the power it puts out.

If you want 24" from tire to tire,I think it could easily be done. We'll need some looooong dogbones and a few extra hub carriers. I just got in from working all week. Gotta catch up on a few things. Let me ponder on it and I'll see if I can come up with a good set up.
Reflection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 03:01 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder

well it looks like im going to go to machine shop with a cad drawing but i need to find a decent diff to handle the size. reason i was thinking dual brushless is i found some 3/8 tubing and im guessing the weight of the complete tuber to be 20lbs. i know its all talk untill i get it built.
Old 07-13-2007, 04:20 PM   #4
TEAM MODERATOR

Quote:
Originally Posted by ati2de22 View Post