Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Large Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Hey, look. Another jeep!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2011, 09:06 AM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Hey, look. Another jeep!

This is my first attempt at a build thread, so please keep your expectations low.
I've been wanting to build one of these for a couple of years now, and recently found this one, too good to pass up.

My workspace the last year has been pretty challenging, to say the least. So this should be an interesting build with limited room/funding I actually do have.

Anyway, started surgery and moved the bumper up, need to beef it all up with aluminum and fill gaps.

I really, REALLY want to put Wraith axles under this thing. And I think it might work with 2.2 Steelies (narrow offset)
What do you guys think?
brokennib is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-01-2011, 10:26 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by brokennib View Post
I really, REALLY want to put Wraith axles under this thing. And I think it might work with 2.2 Steelies (narrow offset)
What do you guys think?
Sweet, you got the "Rat Patrol" edition (anyone remember that show on TV?) That will be a good start. If you could find a windshield it would'nt be hard to add it. Did you get all the jerry cans too? (6 total I think? 4 on the hood 2 in back)

I've been doing axle research as well.

Wraith axles were my first thought, since I knew Axial had made them substantially wider than SCX-10's. Something I read a week or so ago made me think they'd be too wide, although I forget what it was or where I saw it (ZoSo?) Wheels with a lot of backspacing may alleviate this some (I never even thought of this) but that narrows your wheel choices.

I think my LHS has a Wraith on display, if I get a chance I'll do some measuring.

The other route I was thinking was the "AXR-10" axles - Longer Beef Toobs