Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Large Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: 1/6th HUMMER H2 *rebuild*

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2011, 11:14 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default 1/6th HUMMER H2 *rebuild*

Alright this is going to be slow and one of thos builds that will more than likely be one step forward, 2 steps back. So bear with me, I am a fulltime college student working a fulltime job and also running a business with my friend so time is scarce, plus having a 1:1 Jeep and a girlfriend taking up the rest of my time, let's just say I am hoping to have this done by new years.

SO I've been out of the hobby for awhile. Sold all my rigs except for a mini 4x4 losi I haven't touched in months and an HPI crawler king with a blown tranny. I originally took my 1/6th H2 and stretched my stampede chassis, threw in a mamba max, some red rock tires and beat the piss out of it.

Here's what it looked like:

So I have 2 perfectly good pede trannys lying around, some scrap metal, perfectly good CK axles, all I need is electronics. The plan is to make this an all around basher. A hill climber, some rocks, mud, snow, you name it. The problem is, I have never actually custom made a crawler before.

So here's where I need help. I've read up a little but still kind of blurry. I was thinking of making the frame out of angle iron or something weldable. I have a buddy with a welder and was gonna see if he could do up the frame for me. I was planning on mounting the tranny vertically in the back seat by cutting up the interior.

Next up is driveshafts. What could I use since the truck will be significantly longer than stock?

Next up is links, how could I four link a CK axle or should I try to make the stock links work?

What would you guys recommend for electronics?

For tires, could I make a 40 series tire and wheel work on my CK axles?

Thanks in advance, hope to make this thing legit when it's done!
aircruiser is offline   Reply With Quote