Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Large Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: My first ever build: 1/6 Scale New Bright Raptor

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2013, 09:58 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default My first ever build: 1/6 Scale New Bright Raptor

I'm a total newbie when it comes to Hobby RC. I don't own a single coil over, servo, or set screw of a hobby grade RC so this will be new territory. I've been reading all of the build threads and various subforums on here learning the ropes. I've read enough and learned enough that I have finally started to plan my build. Before I buy anything I wanted to run my plans by some of you knowledgeable guys and maybe you can help me avoid some costly mistakes or headaches.

My 5yo son is OBSESSED with Ford Raptors and we bought him the large 1/6 scale New Bright for his Birthday. It's easily the most underpowered POS I've ever seen and that's saying much since my son owns a lot of New Bright RCs. But, the body is freaking awesome and the LED lights are awesome. So my dream it to shove that body on top of something that will be able to drive over it's own shadow without stalling so my son can really enjoy it. I'm not going in to this with the expectations that this will be a competition crawler of a scale RC so lifelike you couldn't tell it wasn't real in pictures. I mainly want something my Son can enjoy which means when we go down the fire roads around our house it doesn't get stuck on a tuft of grass sticking out of the dirt road, or doesn't stall on a baby fist sized rock.