Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Large Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: 1/6 new bright ram 2500

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2019, 09:57 AM   #1

Cool 1/6 new bright ram 2500

Hey guys new to the forum, well any forum to be exact. I have been building custom fabbed rc crawlers for a few years now and it's finally time to document it.

So here it is. A 1/6 scale Dodge ram body made by new bright. (Visit 11xfabrication on Facebook)the truck has a very basic setup. I had a 100% factory axial wraith spawn as a donor truck. So I robbed everything but the chassis and those weak suspension links and started building. I started with 1/8th in mild steel sheet and cut out as close to a factory frame rail shape as I could. I cut 2 ofcourse and bolted them to the stock wraith skid plate. From there this thing snowballed quick. I started with a main hoop and built off of that. It fit the inside of the body perfect. My thought on the cage, was to be functional, and provide it's intended structure knowing that most of the cage work will be covered by the body. My ultimate goal with the entire truck was to have it share similar handling chacteristics as a 1:1.

The suspension was pretty straight forward in the rear but this truck HAD to have a chassis mounted servo and a 3 link. I made a super slim truss and welded suspension link tabs on it. I was very fortunate to have had my geometry dialed first try. The steering was a little tricky on how to mount the servo with minimal bump steer. After 2 tries I finally landed it. I made links for steering out of all thread, some Traxxas tie rod ends, and brakeline. After completing all the steering, I quickly noticed the factory dog bone outer shafts were binding at the new steering angle. So I went to my local hobbytown and got some hd shafts with u joints which instantly fixed the issue.