Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Large Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Buck's 1/6th all metal Willys Jeep

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2015, 07:50 PM   #1

Default Buck's 1/6th all metal Willys Jeep

First off, I'll say that I am new to RC and scale stuff, this is my first project. But I'm not new to general fabrication, and jeeps. This will probably be different than most crawlers, because I'm not really going for a light weight vehicle.

Anyway, I didn't really have a game plan when I started this. I had a 1/6th scale metal jeep model, which was really nice. (I'm sure someone somewhere is crying because I hacked up such a nice model!) I decided I wanted to make an RC car out of it, so I picked up a Mad Torque crawler that happened to have the right wheel base for what I wanted.

Hind sight being what it is, I probably should have just pieced together all the chassis myself, because now that I've had the Mad Torque for a while, all the plastic parts are starting to bite me in the butt due to the weight of the metal body.

So, this build won't really cover the body, since most of the body is already done, and I didn't take any photos along the way.

So, I have a set of all metal (aluminum mostly?) Super Bully axles on the way. I would have liked to have the Bully XLD axles, which are an inch narrower, but I couldn't find them in stock anywhere. Are they still made?? Hopefully I can make up some of that inch with different backspacing wheels. I'll be buying metal rod ends and making the links the length that they need to be out of steel rod, or possibly aluminum if I can't re-use the aluminum links that are on there now.