Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Large Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Need your opinions on building a scale rig

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2007, 04:23 PM   #1
RCC Addict

Default Need your opinions on building a scale rig

I would say i am a beginner at RC's but learning very fast. So far, i've built 3 nylint rockcrawlers that crawl very well. My recent one is a gladiator model with a stretched wheelbase, 4-link rear and some other crap. I think i'm ready to move on to something more advanced but need your opinions.

I have another gladiator body laying around and i would like to use that again. What would be a good hobby grade chassis/axles/motor to use? I don't want to spend alot of $$ (under $200) and i don't want anything far too advanced for me. I was thinking of grabbing a clod buster that was already built (on ebay) and using the motor/axles/etc to build a capable crawling chassis for the gladiator. I'm not really sure of the crawl-ability of the clods or other hobby grade crawlers out there. I'm into the scale lookin rigs, preferrably 1/6 size.

Which HG crawler setups out there are cheap but crawl well?

Any info to get me started is appreciated.
muddeprived is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-03-2007, 08:32 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Not sure about the crawlability of the clod? At least 60% of the super class cralwers are clod axle based
For the Jeep gladiator body you will not find a 'hobby grade' chassis as it is just too big. If you look through some of the other builds in this forum you will see how each one runs a scratch built chassis either out of brake line or steel tube.
Axles and drive train will depend on the look you want for your build. If you want to keep the tires in the fenders TLT axles or wheely king axles are the ticket. If you dont mind the tires sticking out a little then clod or TXT axles should be on the shopping list.