Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Losi Micro-Rock Crawler

Notices

Thread: My first attempt at a micro course

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2010, 08:54 PM   #1

Default My first attempt at a micro course

And i think it came out pretty good.

this is my first time using expanding foam so there was a little bit of a learning curve with how the foam reacted.

i wanted something decent sized where two or more crawlers can play, but space was a big concern, so here is what i came up with.

its still not 100% finished as you can see

The white styrofoam pieces will be wrapped in paper mache to cover the foam for painting, and to take some of the "man made" look away from it

here you can kinda see the size of it

close-up it looks a little shiny here but it is really not

here you can see the borders i used, they are sticks of some sort for supporting plants, they worked and look perfect, i left them in while painting so they kind of have a dirty look to them.

my little guy in action

and now for the best part!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !

portable and easily stored.

it only wieghs about 25-30 pounds so its eay to bring in and out of the house, upstairs or downstairs. also seems like it might be easily transported in case i want to take it somewhere.

the foam seems to have expanded more than i thought or reacted to being painted so i have some touch up work to do.

now for the list of supplies, and prices( as i can best remember them)
i spent a little more than originally planned but i usually get carried away with everything i do and the end product seems worth it to me.

3'x6' folding table(wamart)..................................... .............................35.00
6 cans spray foam(used 5)................................................ ...........................36.00
two packs of styrofoam(home depot, only used 1 with a lot left so far).......24.00