Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Losi Micro-Rock Crawler
Loading

Notices

Thread: Got power steering??

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 04:53 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fruita
Posts: 108
Default Got power steering??

How about 60 in-oz?





Yea, it's a bit $$ for a servo on one of these, but it's an awesome setup. You just have to space the passenger side servo mount over a bit, and space the driver's side upper link mount out the same amount. Leaving the stock driver's side mount in place allows you to reuse the stock drag link and tie rod. My tires now slightly rub the upper links on full turn, but I have spacers in the mail.

At this point, my homemade spacers are pretty butch (the white plastic you see in the pics), but I plan to clean them up now that I know this will work. The biggest issue with this servo is that it's so deep, you can't attach the shocks to the stock mounts. I solved this by attaching them to the lower links. I'm a little concerned about the strength of the lower arms now, but to my amazement, I actually prefer how the buggy now flexes in the front. In fact, I'm considering doing this same lower mounting to the rear shocks.

monsterz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-20-2013, 05:15 PM   #2
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Champlin, MN
Posts: 507
Default Re: Got power steering??

isn't that a little overkill with stock tires?
Intashu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:59 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fruita
Posts: 108
Default Re: Got power steering??

For $10 more than a HS-65MG, why would you not do this? A side benefit is that it's a high voltage servo, so you can run it straight off your battery, which should help lower temps on the ESC.
monsterz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:52 PM   #4
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bama!
Posts: 514
Default Re: Got power steering??

Bend the top of the chassi in like on my comp build to get more angle on the shocks Smuggl1n's Other Comp Build or try some or the trekker ball studs they are longer wish I had a pic of the two.
smuggl1n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:20 AM   #5
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fruita
Posts: 108
Default Re: Got power steering??

Bending in the uppers like you did, or mounting the top lower in the chassis might work if you also spaced out the lower shock mount as much as you could. As it currently is, I'm liking how mine runs with the shocks mounted on the lower links. It seems to articulate more smoothly with the extra leverage the axle now has on the springs.
monsterz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Got power steering?? - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
steering servo looses all power when in jam V12REVO Electronics 11 05-28-2012 01:15 AM
Enough power for Dig and Steering Servos ? BoredGord Electronics 15 08-17-2009 09:54 PM
Power Steering Mechanicalbob General Crawlers 7 03-11-2007 06:07 AM
Need more steering power!!! ROCKAPE Electronics 3 08-21-2006 08:26 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com