Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Losi Micro-Rock Crawler

Notices

Thread: Lava's New Flow...A Tuber.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2014, 12:30 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Lava's New Flow...A Tuber.

I started a tuber and feel pretty sure I will finish this one so I decided to post it. I'm using telescoping tubing and cross drilling and pinning joints as much as possible. To achieve quality bends in the .093 tubing that makes up most of the frame, I inserted solder into the tubing from end to end, made my bends, then melted the solder out with a torch.

This rig will be four wheel steer equipped with a Bastens 2-3 channel steering control. It's my first attempt at four wheel steering and I'm pretty stoked on the thought of it.

I still have to add gusseting and shock mounts. Panelling also, I going to use ultra fine brass screen I think it will look cool. The photos are taken as she sits unsprung. I will also be doing a Rev B on the shocks I made for my last rig.
Attached Images

LavaCapCrawling is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-21-2014, 01:44 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Lava's New Flow...A Tuber.

Mighty fine work man.

I like the style...not the same old tuber look. Way to keep it interesting
DANALLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 03:55 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder

Thanks Danally! I crawl in isolation so my ideas evolve on their own. It's just kinda the way it came out.

I installed shock mounts, they are brass nuts soldered together. I made a electronics tray and new stainless links too. I installed everything to check fits and it looks decent. Once the sides are covered everything should be hidden except a few wires.
Attached Images

Old 09-29-2014, 06:15 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper

Very nice work, i like the lines and the shock mounts are creative
MikeChino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 10:06 PM   #5
Pebble Pounder

Thanks! MikeChino.