Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Losi Micro-Rock Crawler

Notices

Thread: Ma and Pa go to market

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2017, 11:04 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Ma and Pa go to market

I've had this model for over 4 years. Just sitting around gathering dust. I saw Jim Frye's Trekker conversion using this kit and his custom chassis. It looked very cool so I decided to build one myself.

All the guts are Trail Trekker with the usual upgrades. A Hytec servo, P90 motor, and Venom 250mA LiPo. The chassis is from Jim Frye and the Rec/ESC has been moved to the rear. The battery is squeezed under the hood.

This is my first attempt at doing a rust paint job using the salt technique. It turned out OK.

I'm using micro LEDs in the headlights and taillights. The tires are RC4WD Rok Lox on stock painted wheels with special painted beadlock rings from Jim Frye.

The battery box for the LEDs is a scratch built crate full of oranges. The sign is scratch built but the tools strewn around are from a 1/24 accessory kit.

The oranges are really a disguised lid to the box that is held in place by a tiny magnet. Two button cells are all that is needed to run the lights.

The driver side mirror shaft has been replaced with a flexible material so it won't break off.

The pics are at the end of he thread. Photobucket screwed everyone, so I found another way.

Last edited by stopmojim; 07-10-2017 at 11:02 PM.
stopmojim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-22-2017, 01:56 PM   #2

Default Re: Ma and Pa go to market

That's ridiculously awesome! Nice job!!!
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 09:12 AM   #3
Pebble Pounder

Looks great. The only thing I would change is perhaps cutting the springs as it sits too high and therefore doesn't have the best center of gravity for climbing. I eventually did that to my Hummer and it climbs and looks MUCH better now. Just my .02 cent