Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Losi Mini-Rock Crawler

Notices

Thread: DIY Beadlock Threaded Inserts

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2009, 10:42 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default DIY Beadlock Threaded Inserts

After modding the stock MRC wheels with the Pvc beadlock ring I managed to strip out the plastic in about a dozen holes when putting everything back together. So a fix was in order. I noticed that the RC4wd delrin wheels had brass threaded inserts so off to McMaster's website I went. Here's the process and parts to copy the results. This is my first attempt at a DIY write-up.

Parts:
2-56 x 5/32 brass inserts - #92395A111, $11 per 50
2-56 x 1/4 18-8 stainless screws - #92196A077, $5.25 per 100

For less than $30 you can do 2 full sets of wheels.

Parts

Wheels prior to drilling

I set the drill press to 1/4" depth with a 1/8" bit

Wheels after drilling out the holes

Wheels with threaded inserts installed. Just remember to install the inserts with the split end into the wheel. I goofed on two. Not bad for doing almost 100.

Wheels with tires installed. Gotta love the extra bling the stainless hardware provides!

One thing to note that will happen doing this. I noticed after tightening down all the screws that the plastic did bulge and a hairline crack show up on the inside face of the wheels at some of the screw locations. I'm not too concerned since the inserts have a diamond knurled outside face and are in pretty soild. I guess we'll see in the long run. Comments and questions welcomed.
Altered-Images is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-07-2009, 12:31 PM   #2

That's a lot of work to salvage the stock plastic wheels. I'm not sure it's something I would do, but it's a good write up and I'm sure it will helpe a bunch of people!
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 07:37 PM   #3
Rock Stacker