RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Losi Mini-Rock Crawler (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/losi-mini-rock-crawler/)
-   -   Help Me Beef Up My MRC!!!!!! (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/losi-mini-rock-crawler/295929-help-me-beef-up-my-mrc.html)

Bananaclip 01-28-2011 11:51 AM

Help Me Beef Up My MRC!!!!!!

I am a MRC super rookie and am looking to beef up my axles and transmission. I will be running these in a tj scale rig but am looking for some streangth from my drivetrain. What parts are you guys running to beef up these little guy's? Also does the HR metal tranny gears eliminate the need for a tranny locker?"thumbsup"

jammin311 01-28-2011 12:01 PM

get some lockers for the axle. I dont know about the gears and get some MIP drive shafts and you should be good oh and alum C's and knockles

Gfresh 01-28-2011 02:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jammin311 (Post 2891436)
get some lockers for the axle. I dont know about the gears and get some MIP drive shafts and you should be good oh and alum C's and knockles

Don't forget the metal locker for the transmission.
With the axle diffs upgraqded to metal lockers, the tranny with metal locker, and maybe some metal drive shafts, its pretty tough.

To futher improve axle strength, replace the four screws that hold the axle casing together (the four that surround the diff bulge/pumpkin), replace with longer screws and nuts (stops the axle halves spreading under high loads - gears can strip if this happens (We are talking high loads though.)

Drifter_X 01-28-2011 08:12 PM

It's really not worth the money to get the HR gears for the trans just install all three Losi lockers also the mip drive shafts.

run2jeepn 01-28-2011 11:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Drifter_X (Post 2892256)
It's really not worth the money to get the HR gears for the trans just install all three Losi lockers also the mip drive shafts.