Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Losi Mini-Rock Crawler

Notices

Thread: Going up steps?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2011, 12:30 AM   #1

Default Going up steps?

Hello! I am new to crawling, and new to this forum. I am sorry if this was discussed before, but I could not find a previous post on it.

I was hoping to be able to crawl my steps with my mrc, but it is just unable to. I did some research and TONS of reading on here, and got the 30* lower arms on the rear (the front does not touch the steps), Axial 1.9 beadlock rims (put my stock tires on there), added 3oz on each of the front wheels, and 1/2oz onto the servo, and I mounted my battery on the back servo plate. It seems like the skid plate is what is hitting the step. Someone told me to get the Gatekeeper GC3 chassis, but after doing a lot of research on that chassis...it seems like it would hinder me from climbing up the steps even more (since the chassis lowers the entire vehicle). I know lower COG helps climb vertical, but what if it is my skid plate that is hitting? Wouldn't increasing the height be the solution? I just need a little bit more clearance in order to clear the steps it seems.
scho52386 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-30-2011, 07:55 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

If this is really what you intend to do with this truck, then you'll need to extend the wheelbase and increase center clearance. However, these trucks are generally too small to make it up more than a single step...
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:33 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper