Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Losi Mini-Rock Crawler

Notices

Thread: Hitec HS-225MG servo?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2011, 05:46 AM   #1

Default Hitec HS-225MG servo?

Hello guys, I just got MRC Pro and serching on the internet for electronics.

It is first time trying rock crawling for me so I'm kinda having difficulties to choose fairly good products with my low budget.

After reading threads in this forum for hours I decided to get stock motor this time and practice until I get better for crawling and Tekin b1r for the ESC.

I already got losi lipo battery and have my old radio set. So the only thing I haven't decide my mind is servo.

While I was searching, I found Hitec HS-225MG which seems pretty good on spec sheet compared to its price. But I haven't seen anyone yet in this forum who used this servo for MRC Pro, so I'm kinda wondering why.

Since I'm a newbie, I don't think I really need hardcore performance stuff yet.

Any advice will help!
petokang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-09-2011, 06:10 AM   #2
rik
RCC Addict

welcome to rcc! i cant speak for the other drivers/builders, but, in my opinion a standard sized servo is the way to go. a mini servo (on a low budget) wont cut it. the servo you are looking at has 66 oz of torque at 6 volts, which isnt enough imo. most are running around 150 0z or above. it should be noted that with a standard sized servo you will get a little tire rub on the servo mount. this is normal. to eliminate the rubbing you will need to center mount the servo on the axles.... i'm running PPP servo on my mrc pro(208 oz/torque, standard sized, knock off from ebay, $50 shipped).