Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Losi Rock Rey

Notices

Thread: Ring Gear to Diff Cup Gasket Thickness?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2019, 07:11 AM   #1

Default Ring Gear to Diff Cup Gasket Thickness?

Hello all, I'm new to the RR and new to this forum. I just picked up a RR used and the rear diff was converted to a locker. All four ring gear screws were shorn off and the gasket was destroyed. I've ordered an Exotek diff cup but without the gasket the gear mesh will be wrong. I was thinking of just 3D printing the right thickness instead of buying a diff internals kit just to get the gasket. But - I don't know the thickness. Does anybody know that gasket thickness? Thanks!
ghargreaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-21-2019, 07:29 AM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Ring Gear to Diff Cup Gasket Thickness?

I would say just go ahead and buy the internals kit. Doesn’t hurt to have extra parts, and the parts can be used in another diff if needed. And the rear wasn’t converted to a locker. The rock Rey comes stock with rear locked. And finally, idk the validity of this, but it was suggested to me that if you’re doing one differential housing upgrade, you should do the other two as well or risk breaking parts. Just an FYI, you will need to find a way to ream out the screw holes on the ring gear a little bigger to accommodate the upgraded bigger screws that the Exotek housing uses. A standard drill bit will not do it. A titanium one should work or I used a Dremel carbide cutting bit. It’s the one in a sort of really small cone shape (not the sanding cone). Hope all that helps. Sorry if it’s long winded

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
OpisOpus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 07:47 AM   #3

Default Re: Ring Gear to Diff Cup Gasket Thickness?