Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Mega/Monster Trucks

Notices

Thread: Intro / SMT10 upgrades 2 weeks in

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2019, 08:03 AM   #1

Default Intro / SMT10 upgrades 2 weeks in

Hello all,

First a huge thank you, I’ve been lurking for a while and this site is a fantastic resource for the newb.

I took my 2 smallish boys to one of the monster jam events in the uk earlier this year. They were already hooked on YouTube videos but its the new best thing in the world. I’m an engineer by profession, I like tinkering and fixing things so the combination of small reckless miniature people and me with screwdrivers was too tempting to pass.

Walk forward a few weeks and I had sourced a max d from hobby king and the last gravedigger on the shelf from a LHS. This post max d only, the gravedigger is in a cupboard until I get a bit more experience.

The first thing I did was read every smt10 post on this forum with the manual in front of me write up a huge parts list! The idea is to go for durability of parts and controllable speed which allows my eldest in particular to have fun without worrying too much. Over the course of a couple of weeks we ended up with:

Jconcepts ‘51 panel truck body
Jconcepts tributes (black) beadlocks (silver) renegades
SSD transmission gears
Mip driveshaft
Axial HD UD diff gears
Hot racing solid diff locker
SSD C-hubs, knuckles and steering links
Savox 1231 servo
Servo extension leads
Vanquish lockouts
KNK SMT10 screws

First up, the body. Wanted to preserve the max d body for show so the jconcepts needed to go on as soon as. I have never cut or painted a body but I made a lot of airfix in my youth! Went for something simple that my kids would recognise from YouTube and ended up with...