Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Micro Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: My new Trekker...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2012, 10:15 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default My new Trekker...

Just got this the other day. Previous owner put the Bronco body on, shortened the links, and put on the Gearhead wheels and RC4WD Mickey T's. I also got the rest of the Bronco model kit and the stock body, tires and wheels, and links for the Trekker. The thing had almost never been used from the looks of it, there's not a scratch on it anywhere. I think I've driven it more in two days than the previous owner ever did. And I love this thing. As a long-time static modeler, I had been interested in these little rigs, just because they are 1/24th scale and I have over 200 un-built model kits in my collection, plus 20 years of accumulated spare parts and bodies in a number of large plastic tubs. But I was wary of their actual ability. I had messed with micro R/C's in the past (XMODS and Losi Micros) and they were disappointing to say the least. But I'm pleasantly surprised by this little rig, but I already see lots of room for improvement. The wheels aren't weighted, the wheelbase is too short, the paintjob on the body is kinda crappy, The servo hits the right-front shock, something is binding in there somewhere, the shocks suck, the link geometry is jacked up and it has torque twist like a beotch.

Plus, it's more top-heavy than Dolly Parton. Climbing any kind of a grade is nearly impossible, as it'll just flip over backward. Sidehill? Forget it. The previous owner has mounted the ESC/Rec. and the stock NiMH and power switch all under the hood of the Bronco. Great for scaleness. Sucks for crawling. (See pic) Worst part is, he GLUED the ESC and switch in with COPIOUS quantities of what looks like clear Epoxy. I'm afraid I might wreck them trying to get the stuff out.