Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Micro Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: new battery

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2018, 12:14 PM   #1
ed1

Default new battery

need help.is there another larger capacity/more powerful battery+charger combo[with the correct connector]for the ftx outback mini/rgt adventurer/ecx barrage.need longer run times than 5-10 mins!.must be nihm batts.
ed1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-02-2019, 04:35 PM   #2

Default Re: new battery

I'm wondering the same thing. I have the rtr battery and it runs out quick in my barrage. I have a dynamite 7.4V 180mAh 20C 2S LiPo (same connector) sitting around and I'm wondering if it's not a good idea to use for some reason?? I put it in for a few minutes to see if anything drastic would happen and it seemed ok - definitely has a little more get up and go.

I'm new to a lot fo the tech stuff in this hobby so any help is appreciated.

Last edited by drtvinp; 02-02-2019 at 04:56 PM.
drtvinp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 05:10 PM   #3

Just a quick followup - I figured I might as well ask Horizon about this. THey said that yes I can use that Lipo, but to be careful not to drain it too low since the esc doesn't have a cutoff.
drtvinp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 08:08 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

2s lipo is fine, but as said the electronics don't have a LVC so you may want a cheap Lipo alarm. Another problem is lipo has more voltage and definitely more punch from a dead stop. It makes the lack of gear reduction much more obvious.

The next step after volting up is of course gearing down. The Version 2 (V2) transmission from the RC4WD is pretty popular and with custom brackets and some work on the driveshaft outputs it will bolt up for about $25-30