Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Micro Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Basher Rocksta mods?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2019, 03:07 AM   #1

Default Basher Rocksta mods?

Hi

I'm new to the whole crawler thing.
So I purchased myself a basher rocksta to get through the winter.
I've already seen some possibilities to make it better.
I've ordered a second batterytray to try the screw mod instead of the clips.

And I ordered some new rims to fit new tires on it, so I don't have to take the stock ones of the stock rims.

Does anyone know which kind of tires fit on the original rims?
And does anyone have an idea to make it a bit quieter?

It's kinda loud for indoors.

Also, who knows how to fix the rubbing of the tires on the linkages?

I set my endpoints to not rub, but now it hardly steers anymore.
Bennie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-08-2019, 03:12 AM   #2

Default Re: Basher Rocksta mods?

I was also thinking of changing the electronics to be able to use my own remote instead of the one that comes in the rtr version.

Has anyone done this? As far as I know the rtr comes with a combines esc/receiver. What is possible to get as a replacement?
Old 10-08-2019, 07:04 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave

For tires the RC4WD scramblers are big and soft, and will work on stock wheels or standard 1.0" wheels.
You can find custom chassis on shapeways in GamyRC's store that may improve geometry.
To keep from rubbing the links, you can try thicker wheel hexes from an RGT Adventurer or ECX Barrage to give you more offset.
As far as the noise, it's an electric RC with dual transmissions, so it's expected. You could try adding a tiny dab of grease to the gears.
If you want to change to a transmitter you already own you'd have to replace all the electronics so you'd need a receiver and a small micro ESC, but that can be difficult to package sometimes.