Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Micro Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Working on a Orlandoo based rock crawler, first test...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2020, 10:53 AM   #1

Default Working on a Orlandoo based rock crawler, first test...

Hello and best wishes for 2020.

I finally got to start "concept testing" my Orlandoo based rock crawler project (compared to my stock Orlandoo def 110):

I still have plenty to do but I think it should work out pretty well.

I quit RC in 1992 (I was into 1/4 th scale at the time) and only got back into it 2 months ago so I guess I'm a beginner.

What I plan to do: move the steering servo back for a better attack angle, build shocks with longer travel if I can find suitable material in all my junk boxes (I haven't been RCing in the last 27 years but kept building things so I have plenty of boxes of aluminum, brass, steel, titanium, plastic...). I will then have to build a body and roll cage and start working on weight distribution, shock adjustment...
I'm also planning on shortening and soldering the wires to remove some of those bulky connectors, building a proper battery tray...

Any ideas, similar projects, comments (...) from you more experienced hobbyist would be appreciated.

Last edited by Isna; 01-03-2020 at 01:49 PM.
Isna is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-02-2020, 11:22 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Working on a Orlandoo based rock crawler, first test...

I think that someone has developed a 3D printed tube buggy style chassis for the Orlandoo drivetrain. May be some pictures and videos online.

Love to see others with the patience to deal with this smaller RCs. I just don’t have it anymore.
Brake Weight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 01:49 PM   #3