Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Micro Scale Rigs
Loading

Notices

Thread: SCX24 motor swap require capacitor?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2020, 01:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Central PA
Posts: 3
Default SCX24 motor swap require capacitor?

Hi guys, been lurking. Now working... on my Deadbolt. Burned out the stock motor in two days, Axial replaced it, but I also just got the RC4WD 030 based on the recommendations here.

Old stock motor had a blue capacitor(?) attached, but the new replacement Axial/Dynamite motor does not. Though it does have some big old coils of some kind under the shrink wrap tubing. I'm not familiar with what those might be.

I really just want to wire up the RC4WD unit and drop it in to check out the difference in torque, but do I need to include a capacitor or other component of some kind?

I swear I searched, but didn't see that specific issue on the many motor swap threads. Apologies if I missed it.
TrickyMickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-19-2020, 07:44 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Central PA
Posts: 3
Default Re: SCX24 motor swap require capacitor?

Ok, I did some homework and found that capacitors are added to brushed motors to reduce interference between the transmitter and receiver.

So now that I'm up to speed, is that a standard practice, are you guys doing that when you drop a new (unwired) motor into the SCX24? Any tips or recommendations on components or technique?

Wonder where I can pick up capacitors with no more Radio Shacks around.

Last edited by TrickyMickey; 06-19-2020 at 07:44 AM. Reason: Formatting
TrickyMickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2020, 12:50 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Merrimack
Posts: 180
Default Re: SCX24 motor swap require capacitor?

Iím running the barrage motor in mine with no capacitors and have had zero interference. Iím not sure what would happen if the truck was far away, Iím usually not more than 6 feet away.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
PFongemie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2020, 01:31 PM   #4
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,274
Default Re: SCX24 motor swap require capacitor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrickyMickey View Post
Ok, I did some homework and found that capacitors are added to brushed motors to reduce interference between the transmitter and receiver.

So now that I'm up to speed, is that a standard practice, are you guys doing that when you drop a new (unwired) motor into the SCX24? Any tips or recommendations on components or technique?

Wonder where I can pick up capacitors with no more Radio Shacks around.
That pretty much stopped being an issue after we stopped using AM/FM radios, the Ghz frequencies aren't as subject to interference issues.
QuesoDelDiablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2020, 02:05 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Central PA
Posts: 3
Default Re: SCX24 motor swap require capacitor?

Cool, thanks for the input, guys. Won't worry about it then!
TrickyMickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 07:52 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Lake Worth
Posts: 30
Default Re: SCX24 motor swap require capacitor?

How does the RC4WD motor stack up against the barrage?
SF RC24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rc4wd, scx24 motor



SCX24 motor swap require capacitor? - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
motor capacitor Jstalker Electronics 2 05-25-2010 04:12 PM
Motor Capacitor question dj23gsx Electronics 0 01-27-2009 05:49 PM
Tekin FXR motor capacitor. customclodcrawler Electronics 4 01-22-2009 05:50 AM
novak motor capacitor aljeann Axial AX-10 Scorpion 9 07-14-2008 08:37 AM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com