Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Micro Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: SCX24 ESC Blinking Red, No Power to Motor

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2020, 07:54 PM   #1

Default SCX24 ESC Blinking Red, No Power to Motor

All,
Just bought a SCX24 (yellow Jeep) and my son didn't get through the first battery before the vehicle just stopped. I have steering and lights, but no power, AND, the ESC is blinking red. My boy is majorly bummed. We decided to go hobby-grade because the cheap RC stuff kept breaking on us. So I spent tons more to get quality, and I cant even get that.

And, oh yeah, I tried to charge the battery to see if it just hit low voltage cut off and it I get the blinky red lights on the charger, ugh.

Your thoughts on the blinking ESC? Motor, probably?
Timotheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-04-2020, 06:50 AM   #2

Default Re: SCX24 ESC Blinking Red, No Power to Motor

I'm a newbie, but here are some guesses:
1. The battery when it arrived was probably at a storage charge, meaning it had some charge, but not a full charge for running.
2. The USB battery charger that comes with it (I'm assuming you got an Axial?) is supposedly crap. Also LiPo batteries (assuming you are using LiPo...maybe you aren't?) can be dangerous, so it would be worth it to watch some videos on LiPo batteries and charging. It will help your batteries last longer and prevent them from catching on fire.
3. Have two batteries. One charged and ready to run. The other then can charge. We seem to be getting about 1.5 hours of run time and about 1+ hour to charge with our charger.
4. Buy a better charger than the USB one the Jeep came with. We got the following from Horizon Hobby, but you can certainly get fancier/better:
-- Adapter: IC3 Battery / JST PH2.0 Device SPMXCA309
-- LiPo Charge Protection Bag, Small DYN1400
-- Passport P1 mini-AC Input Balance Charger/Discharger DYNC3015