Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Multi Axle Rigs

Notices

Thread: Tommy's Beast II 6x6

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2015, 07:13 PM   #61
Quarry Creeper

Default Tommy's Beast II 6x6

So excited to see you do this, I've had the rolling chassis built for a while now but due to minimal free time haven't been able to start the shortening mod. I'm feeling good about modifying the chassis but am hesitant about the body...I've never worked with styrene before and might lack the patience it requires!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
skybolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-28-2015, 07:50 PM   #62
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Tommy's Beast II 6x6

Well, your wait may be shorter than expected. So I finished drilling and clearancing. All in all, I think I had to drill 4 holes and clearance just a bit under the chassis in order to move the middle axle forward ~21mm. Everything else used existing holes. AND all of the links are pointing forward now. The links are shorter now, but I think the geometry will be okay. The clearancing was on the bottom of the chassis where the lower arms connect to the chassis. The rod ends would contact the frame rail so the rail was clearanced a bit with my Dremel. Easy stuff...

This is a top view showing the flipped upper control arm mount on the axle. You can also see the forward mount for the upper control arms and how I added a nylock nut in the newly drilled hole.

Side view with the suspension at full droop. No clearance issues!

And at full bump. Again, no clearance issues. Also, there are no clearance issues at full articulation.

View from the rear twisting.

Here it is in super short wheelbase mode:
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 08:10 PM   #63
I wanna be Dave

So the middle axle is where I'd like it. Now to address moving the rear axle forward. And I'd like to get it as reasonably close to the middle axle as possible. What to do?