Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Multi Axle Rigs

Notices

Thread: Great, another Bullhead 6x6 build.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2016, 08:32 AM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Great, another Bullhead 6x6 build.

As stated I'll be copying a lot of Bullhead based builds. Well, maybe not. I will be parting from the norm and making my own chassis out of 3/4" tube steel instead of using a stretched SUX 10 frame. I'll also be doing some dreaded body work to the cab to make it more proportionate. I have been collecting parts for this monstrosity for 3 years, so don't expect any rapid progress.
Instead listing of an expensive parts list, I'll let the pictures explain:

You can't just order parts and not touch them. I had to lay them out you know.
Now for the initial mock up phase. The plan is to modify RC4WD's suspension kit for a Tamiya tractor to fit the rear axles:

More on that later. Here is the proposed wheelbase:

This thing comes in at nearly 30" long since I would like to add a scratch-built sleeper. Ridiculous, right?
In order to sort out electronics I used a monster truck chassis as a test mule to decide what motor works the best on 4S through a Mamba Max ESC:

The no-name 550 brushed motor from a 12V cordless drill seems to work the best. Unfortunately a Novak motor was harmed during the testing. As with most long-term projects, my ambition to build this slowly diminished and all of the parts found their way back into a box to be rummaged through for other bad ideas.
tcanin00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-13-2016, 09:04 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: Great, another Bullhead 6x6 traptor build.