Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Regional > Southwest > New Mexico

Notices

Thread: Well boys, eat your hearts out

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2011, 06:14 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Well boys, eat your hearts out

So, about a year ago I ordered a clod buster, just to have something to mess around with. Took about six months but I finally opened the box and built the sucker. Well, ended up going a different route on the body so I had this extra Chevy body laying around.

Then, I ended up ordering another damn honcho kit at like 3am one day this summer (don't ask me why). Well, I wasn't sure what to do, so I sort of had the two meet in the middle.

(yes, I am NOT a professional photographer, duly noted).

side view before I put the winch on

I ordered the custom chevy emblems from rc4wd. I guess they are shipped from Europe. I followed the directions on the 1 inch piece of paper which basically says to shoot them with flat black, then 1200 grit the outset. Turned out perfect.

Another shot of the emblem. I liked the texture feeling of them. They really do resemble the real thing. The package/website says "enough for one truck" but I have exactly one more of everything left.... so I'm not sure if I didn't include all the emblems needed....

So, I really wanted a winch, but didn't want to spend too much time wrestling with how to mount it.... So I ordered the pro-line bumper, which is uglier than sin. I don't like the bumper, but for now, it will do.

So, the picture doesn't really do it justice, but the bed liner has a flat appearance. Turned out to look really neat.

The Good:
-The honcho is (I believe) a 12.3" wb... the chevy wants 11" at best. So I had to make some custom links.... turned out well.