Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: How to creep even slower?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2008, 06:33 PM   #1

Default How to creep even slower?

I am new to the hobby side of RC trucks (fixing and modifying them, instead of just throwing them away when they break). I have a VMG (Venom Mini-Giant/Leo-x) that I have been having a lot of fun with. It crawls great (inside and on my little rock garden I made outside on my covered porch while the snow is on the ground). I just finished stretching it one inch. It crawls even better now. This site has helped me a lot.

I have installed the GWS gear reduction unit - 6.6:1 and I use a 10 tooth pinion.
Electronics are stock.

My question is - how can I make it even slower?
Not slower at the top (its max is about 3 miles an hour) but slower from a dead stop. With the slightest touch of the throttle it jumps forward a good inch. I am wondering if it's possible to be able to just start out barely moving, like only a quarter inch at a time, if I wanted.

I geared way down, as noted above. Then I volted way down and that helped a lot. I'm only running 4 cells (2/3A's - 4.8 volts) which isn't bad, I still have plenty of torque and long run time (at least a half hour) but I would like to run at least 5 or 6 cells.

Would better electronics help? If so, any recommendations (under a $100 total)?

What about the motor? I can't find a higher turn motor this size (370). I'm using the "Team Associated Super 370 Motor". Would re-winding the motor myself to get a higher turn be worth it? I've seen a really good write-up or two explaining how to do that on this site and I'd be willing to try that but only if that is my best bet.

I am pretty new to all of this - so feel free to talk in really basic terms.