Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Longer Steering Drag Link vs. Shorter Drag Link?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2008, 04:27 AM   #1
Like a boss...

Default Longer Steering Drag Link vs. Shorter Drag Link?

So I'm going to be a big noob here and ask, is there any difference and how so?

I've seen some comments in builds that say that having a longer drag link helps steering. Not sure I understand the how/why?

I have read the excellent tech article on our main page btw. But no mention of this specifically.

Thanks in advance for the answer/help. Curious to hear...
mann0mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-08-2008, 04:47 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

If you're building a scaler, with a chassis-mounted servo, a longer DL will keep bumpsteer to a minimum. Mount the servo to one of your chassis rails and run the DL to the opposite wheel. If the DL's pivot point is on the same plane as the links' pivot points you can eliminate bumpsteer altogether. A Hi-Lift steering bellcrank will help; their profile is a lot lower than a servo's, so the pivot point tucks into the frame nicely.

Using an axle-mounted servo, the DL should be long enough to let the servo horn sit vertical at center.
microgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 05:40 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Basically, you want the steering to be pushed sideways, not up and down. ;) Any force up and down is wasted, and harder on parts.
chevy42083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 12:59 PM   #4
Like a boss...

Thanks. That all makes sense.

So I'll even be specific. AX10 Axle, with offset servo plate. The servo mounts off-center to the driver's side left.

The stock kit, provides a very short drag link 1" - 1.5" to the driver's side left knuckle. It sits level and parallel to the tie rod, it's just short.

So there would be no advantage to using a longer drag link 3.5" inches to the right side instead?