Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: noob here

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2008, 12:43 PM   #1

Default noob here

Hey guys. I just deicided that I need a new hobby. I used to be really active and did lots of sports. But I had a terrible ropeswinging accident and I wrecked my ankle really good and I am unable to do the things I used to do in the past.

I do, however offroad a suzuki samurai and ride a motorcycle, so I'm not new to mechanical things. And I know about 4wheelin and rock crawling (I used to have a nice TJ)

Anyhow, this is just kinda a thread to introduce myself and maybe ask suggestions on what would be a good rig to start off with and not have to spend an arm and a leg on it.

I have one of those wally-crawlers that I cut the springs down on and added bigger tires, but its pretty stupid. Im looking for something a little more into the hobby than something I can get for $50 at wal-mart.

I have had cheapo rc cars in the past from radio shack (I even took apart a rear end and super glued the spider gears together )

Anyway.

Howdy all.

-Ben
mrcox is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-28-2008, 05:10 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Welcome ben,
As for a good rock crawler that doesnt cost an arm and a leg go for the axial rtr. It is like 225-250 ready to run out of the box. All you need is 8 AA, a 7.2 stick pack and a charger. It comes with a second gear for better crawling, a 2 channel radio, and a differential lock. And since you have background with real trucks youll be suprised to see that the rock crawlers are built exactly the sam as a real truck. The differentials the axials the 3 links. It makes it really easy to work on
shaggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 06:23 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper