Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Used rig or kit for newbie?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2008, 12:42 PM   #1

Default Used rig or kit for newbie?

I recently discovered the world of rc rockcrawling and decided that I wanted one! I have been looking all over these forums and havent really come to a conclusion on whether a used rig or a new kit would be better for me. I used to screw around with the original t-maxx years ago so I have some rc experience. One of things I noticed with kits is that most need electronics, could I use my old electronics off of my t-maxx? Also am I going to need to buy any special tools to work on these or will standard mechanics tools be fine?

Any help is appreciated!
eganracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-14-2008, 12:48 PM   #2
RCC Addict

well for electronics, the only thing off your maxx i would use would be the reciever, other than that u will need a good motor like a 55t for a nice cheap one, and a good servo like a hightech, then a good esc like a sidewinder but there are plenty others that people are using...u can buy an ax-10 rtr for pretty cheap and they are all ready to run wich is good. the reason i would suggest getting a new one is cuz to me half of the fun is upgrading to better parts.
slowngreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 07:41 PM   #3
Rock Crawler