Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Turn, turn, turn...what does it mean exactly?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2008, 08:36 PM   #1

Default Turn, turn, turn...what does it mean exactly?

Total noob question here but, I see where motors are listed like "55 turn", "75 turn", "17 turn", etc. What does that mean precisely? Is it how many revolutions per minute? If so, I guess a 17 turn would give more torque and less speed then a 55 turn...right?
axl_rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-16-2008, 08:39 PM   #2
RCC Addict

no...opposite. 17 turn less torque more speed than a 55. Its the number of turns of wire around the armature.
Deezul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 08:51 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deezul View Post
no...opposite. 17 turn less torque more speed than a 55. Its the number of turns of wire around the armature.
Cool. What is a "good" turn for a crawler and should the motor for each axle have the same turn number? Any specific advantage or disadvantage to having different turn numbers?
Old 08-16-2008, 08:52 PM   #4
RCC Addict

the Turns of a motor (ie 7t, 45t, 65T) ect refer to the windings the motor has in it. the lower the amount of turns, typically the faster the motor will spin. the more the turns, typically the more torque you ll have. while this is the Normal case, its not always like this. there are alot of things theat make a differance in the way a motor operate.

this also refers to Brushed motors.
hth
T
Timmahh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 10:46 AM   #5
I wanna be Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by axl_rose View Post
Cool. What is a "good" turn for a crawler and should the motor for each axle have the same turn number?
I assume that you have a Clod based crawler....dut still need more info on the setup. Super or 2.2?