Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Need some advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2008, 01:56 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Need some advice

Hello I'm new to the rock crawling world I use to build xmods, but those don't cut it anymore for me. So lately I have been looking at High lifts and also AX-10 with the TCS X-Trail Scale Chassis because I want to build a scale. But I can’t pick one, so I would like to know your opinions on both of these rigs.
nate3923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-29-2008, 02:32 PM   #2
K_B
I wanna be Dave

Axial X-Trail for sure... allows you to have the scale look but with good rock crawling performance. The Hi-Lift is leaf-sprung and won't hold a candle to the X-trail. After you buy an Axial and the X-Trail chassis, I still don't think you're up to the same price as a Hi-Lift either...
K_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 05:12 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

I have 2 x-trails and they perform well. You'll have a lot of options building with the x-trail.

The high lifts are great kits. The reason to get one is you want something with a 3 speed tranny, and the more scale looking leaf springs. I've seen some that have decent flex for having leaf springs, but you need to know how to set them up, and the leafs need to be broken in.

Last edited by Stburr91; 08-29-2008 at 10:47 PM.
Stburr91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 07:52 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stburr91 View Post
I have 2 x-trails and they perform well. You'll have a lot of options building with the x-trail.

The high lifts are great kits. The reason to get one is you want something with a 3 speed tranny, and the more scale looking leaf springs. I've seen some that have decent flex for having leafing springs, but you need to know how to set them up, and the leafs need to be broken in.