Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: custom chassis or bought

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2008, 05:53 PM   #1

Default custom chassis or bought

hey guys newbie here just wanted to know if it was easy to build one or just go out and buy one i have been out of this hobbie for awhile now and seen that there was rc rock crawlers now and that it was time to get back in this hobbie any information will help thanks
newcrawler08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-14-2008, 07:09 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

I was kinda in the same boat, wondered if I should buy a kit or build one from scratch and ended up buying the Tamiya Hilux high lift. Always wanted a hilux as a kid but could never afford one and figured that I would have just as much in the scratch built as this kit so that's the way I went. Have seen some pretty sweet home brewed rigs on this site though.
F-150Highlift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 08:15 PM   #3

true but some of those kit are pritty pricey thats why i kinda wanna go scratch build also i know your wheel base should be 12.5 and width 12.5 on a scale 2.2 rig and i know that they use a 1/10th scale body but how long can i go on the chassis and width on that
Old 09-14-2008, 08:20 PM   #4
TEAM MODERATOR

The 12.5" deal is only if you plan on competing and using the USRCCA rules. If your just building for fun and/or a back yard basher....it's all up to you want you can/can't build.
Reflection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 08:42 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by raptorman57 View Post
The 12.5" deal is only if you plan on competing and using the USRCCA rules. If your just building for fun and/or a back yard basher....it's all up to you want you can/can't build.
see thats where i kinda wanna go by those rules just in case i happen find a track near by me that i can go and compete and after come home and play on the local rocks