Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Tx for crawling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2009, 12:50 AM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Tx for crawling

I've been racing 1/10th off road and 1/12th carpet for a few years, using a KO Mars steering wheel radio. Just got my first crawler - Venom.

I've got the diffs locked for maximum traction, but I'm surprised about how bad the turning circle is. I figured I'd look at getting a remote diff lock kit for the front (I assume that that if I fit just one kit, it should go on the front?).

Although my Tx is 3 channel, the third channel isn't adjustable - no EPA / throw adjustment, and the button has to be held down to operate the servo - doesn't latch in place. The lack of adjustments might make setting up the diff lock a bit tricky.

For the future, 3ch might be a bit limiting, since there are so many options - 4-wheel steering, 2 diff locks, DIG.
Since I also fly RC planes, using a Futaba 7C, I thought about using this for the crawler. Strictly speaking, here in the UK it's illegal to use an air Tx (35Mz band) for a surface vehicle. I'd need to get a 2.4GHz radio, as the surface band radios (27MHz and 40 MHz) are all 2 or 3 channel.

Does anybody here use an aircraft Tx?
If so, what do you use, and how have you assigned the channels - what function to what stick/switch?
clockworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-31-2009, 01:36 AM   #2
Who's your Daddy-0!

DX6i is what your looking for I use a DX3R for 90% of my crawlers, but I do use my DX6i for the rest. There is quite a few threads on how to set up the DX6i for anything you could need to know for crawling. Info on setting it up for 2.2 and Super rigs. The DX6i will do everything you need for crawling and still fly your heli's and airplanes It has a 10 model memory, the RX's are cheaper and give you more open channels, and it's not expensive at all!!!!