Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General
Loading

Notices

Thread: Adopt a newbie todaayy!!!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2009, 11:11 PM   #61
Holmes Hobbies
 
CD13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: No Where
Posts: 2,751
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marto View Post
Just read it again.

Ok.

There is mechanical dig, electronic dig and dig switches.

What is the dig switch function ? Is it stand alone or it works in conjunction with either the mechanical or electronic dig ?

I know what all three are but you lost me

What is the dig switch function ?
Turn off esc and shorts the motor + & - making the motor drag

Is it stand alone or it works in conjunction with either the mechanical or electronic dig
There are two switches,one for the front and one for the rear and works in conjuction with elec. digs
CD13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-01-2009, 11:17 PM   #62
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fresno
Posts: 398
Default

I forgot about the dual escs.
Calicrawler23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:21 PM   #63
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CD13 View Post
I know what all three are but you lost me

What is the dig switch function ?
Turn off esc and shorts the motor + & - making the motor drag

Is it stand alone or it works in conjunction with either the mechanical or electronic dig
There are two switches,one for the front and one for the rear and works in conjuction with elec. digs
Thanks for clearing it up bud.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calicrawler23 View Post
I forgot about the dual escs.
No prob buddy, noones getting made fun of in this thread, its for mistakes, misunderstanding, and gaining info. Dont sweat it
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 09:24 PM   #64
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saguenay, Québec , Canada
Posts: 18
Default

Oh man, this "DIG" thingy is really overwhelming. :-(

Anybody knows a link to a schematic or even a picture of each one of those three ways to make a dig?

And to all of you having difficulties in understanding my writting, I would like to apologize for my bad english phrasing. English is my secondary language.
Marto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 09:34 PM   #65
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Anderson
Posts: 1,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColbyTheKid View Post
No prob buddy, noones getting made fun of in this thread, its for mistakes, misunderstanding, and gaining info. Dont sweat it

The only person in this thread that we are allowed to make fun of is you Colby!!

J/K keep up the great work....

-Jason
KrawlOff-Road.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 09:49 PM   #66
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saguenay, Québec , Canada
Posts: 18
Default

Just got a look to the PunkRC electronic dig on their website.

Seems to be by far the simplest set-up.
Marto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 09:56 PM   #67
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krawler Hobbies View Post
The only person in this thread that we are allowed to make fun of is you Colby!!

J/K keep up the great work....

-Jason
Whatever floats your boat, just be ready to zip up your pants and stop talking out your bum when you need to

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marto View Post
Just got a look to the PunkRC electronic dig on their website.

Seems to be by far the simplest set-up.
It is VERY simple. Heres a pic of the dig switch diagram:

Im not 100% sure on the dual ESC diagram though, never had to deal with that. Maybe a Vet. could help him out with a pic?
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 11:07 AM   #68
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saguenay, Québec , Canada
Posts: 18
Default

Dig switch : Also a really simple set-up.

You just said that you were not sure about the dual ESCs. Is a dual ESCs set-up considered an electronic dig?
Marto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 11:29 AM   #69
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marto View Post
Dig switch : Also a really simple set-up.

You just said that you were not sure about the dual ESCs. Is a dual ESCs set-up considered an electronic dig?
Yeah, all the digs work about the same, just different ways to do them. They also have there advantages and disandvantages as well. Like dual esc's eliminates alot of rear axle stall. But the punk dig, and the switch digs are cheaper and easier to fix. if something goes wrong
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 12:14 PM   #70
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saguenay, Québec , Canada
Posts: 18
Default

And now, does anyone have a pic of a mechanical dig?

Do they all look like the Losi one?
Marto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 12:21 PM   #71
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marto View Post
And now, does anyone have a pic of a mechanical dig?

Do they all look like the Losi one?
OH, you mean a shafty dig I thought we were all talking about bergs..
heres a DNA dig:


It just bolts right to the AX-10 transmission. Basically that pulls the drive from the trans in the rear, and locks it so it will not spin.
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 10:21 PM   #72
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saguenay, Québec , Canada
Posts: 18
Default

I guess this complete my dig 101 basic training.

Thanks to all that helped.


Now onto electronics.

I want to build a MOA super class crawler. I was wondering if the FXR is sufficient in this case or the FXR Pro is a must for that much weight?

Even worse, is a two ESCs set-up the bare minimum in this case?
Marto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 10:41 PM   #73
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marto View Post
I guess this complete my dig 101 basic training.

Thanks to all that helped.


Now onto electronics.

I want to build a MOA super class crawler. I was wondering if the FXR is sufficient in this case or the FXR Pro is a must for that much weight?

Even worse, is a two ESCs set-up the bare minimum in this case?
To be 100% honest with you. Im a complete R-tard when it comes to supers
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 11:10 PM   #74
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 615
Default

Sorry for posing in your thread Colby. I figured it would be better to just reply here instead of another thread.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marto View Post
I want to build a MOA super class crawler. I was wondering if the FXR is sufficient in this case or the FXR Pro is a must for that much weight?

Even worse, is a two ESCs set-up the bare minimum in this case?

You should be fine with the FXR's, since the Super MOA crawlers run 540 motors. Which is the same size as the motors in bergs.

A two ESC is the most you can get, you cant add anymore than that...well you could but its not needed at all. Dual ESC's on a super MOA is the best route to go. You want as much power to the wheels as possible because of the term "clodstall"

Clodstall: When your front or rear tires are under a large amount of pressure where it "stalls" your motors.
eron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 11:20 PM   #75
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eron View Post
Sorry for posing in your thread Colby. I figured it would be better to just reply here instead of another thread.
nah its cool, I want people to post here! Not just me! I dont know everthing
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 10:48 AM   #76
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saguenay, Québec , Canada
Posts: 18
Default

By going the 2 ESCs route, you don't need to buy a seperate dig, but you must bye an expensive 4 channels radio.

Can you go with a 3 channels also or a 4 channels is mandatory?
Marto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 11:30 AM   #77
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marto View Post
By going the 2 ESCs route, you don't need to buy a seperate dig, but you must bye an expensive 4 channels radio.

Can you go with a 3 channels also or a 4 channels is mandatory?
4 channels is manditory. Now I dont know much about the dual esc setup, but i beleive the 3rd channel works one esc, the 4th works the other? The Nomadio React is a OK radio. It sucks battery life though. I just got one, and im going to seehow it does.
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 03:03 PM   #78
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Surprise, Az
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColbyTheKid View Post
4 channels is manditory. Now I dont know much about the dual esc setup, but i beleive the 3rd channel works one esc, the 4th works the other? The Nomadio React is a OK radio. It sucks battery life though. I just got one, and im going to seehow it does.
You set up the esc's on the 2nd and 3rd channel...4th is used for rear steer

What battery are you using? I made a 4cell pack out of some elite 1500 2/3a cells, so far its still above 5v and its been in for almost a week now without unplugging it after shutting it off.
Failedabortion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 03:31 PM   #79
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Failedabortion View Post
You set up the esc's on the 2nd and 3rd channel...4th is used for rear steer

What battery are you using? I made a 4cell pack out of some elite 1500 2/3a cells, so far its still above 5v and its been in for almost a week now without unplugging it after shutting it off.
I havent gotten my nomadio yet, I will have it tomorrow. Just from peopel I have talked to they said it sucks the juice out of it real quick.
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 03:53 PM   #80
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Surprise, Az
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColbyTheKid View Post
I havent gotten my nomadio yet, I will have it tomorrow. Just from peopel I have talked to they said it sucks the juice out of it real quick.
The stock battery would drop like a timer... stock is a 800mah aa pack that is suppose to last 6 hours?? I will probably get 10 hours out of my 1500 pack. Might have to check into a 2600 aa pack though. I also put a micro deans on the stock battery plug so I can put it on my charger instead of using the usb cord that takes forever...
Failedabortion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
axial, berg, help noob, whats a dig?, whats clod stall?



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com