Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General
Loading

Notices

Thread: Adopt a newbie todaayy!!!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2009, 02:57 PM   #81
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Failedabortion View Post
The stock battery would drop like a timer... stock is a 800mah aa pack that is suppose to last 6 hours?? I will probably get 10 hours out of my 1500 pack. Might have to check into a 2600 aa pack though. I also put a micro deans on the stock battery plug so I can put it on my charger instead of using the usb cord that takes forever...
What about soldering up a 800mah lipo or something? Or can you do that? All I will have is the stock battery. Destroyer said you can literaly watch the voltage drop?
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-04-2009, 03:07 PM   #82
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Surprise, Az
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColbyTheKid View Post
What about soldering up a 800mah lipo or something? Or can you do that? All I will have is the stock battery. Destroyer said you can literaly watch the voltage drop?
Ya it drops like a timer counting down lol...I made a bec with adapters on it to run lipo but ran into cutoff problems cause I've read 6v is close to the max you want to give the tx. Maybe someone else with one has put more to it without problems?

I'm probably going to pick up a aa holder to use for a back up if the 1500 pack dies.
Failedabortion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 03:11 PM   #83
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Failedabortion View Post
Ya it drops like a timer counting down lol...I made a bec with adapters on it to run lipo but ran into cutoff problems cause I've read 6v is close to the max you want to give the tx. Maybe someone else with one has put more to it without problems?

I'm probably going to pick up a aa holder to use for a back up if the 1500 pack dies.
Thats what fishmaxx told me to do. Just take one from a Tmaxx and wire it up, and carry spare AA's.
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 03:13 PM   #84
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Surprise, Az
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColbyTheKid View Post
Thats what fishmaxx told me to do. Just take one from a Tmaxx and wire it up, and carry spare AA's.
Let me know how long it lasts if you do it
Failedabortion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 03:33 PM   #85
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Failedabortion View Post
Let me know how long it lasts if you do it
Will do bud
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 03:48 PM   #86
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saguenay, Québec , Canada
Posts: 18
Default

So far, what are our options for 4 channels radios:

Nomadio React
Futaba 4PK
...
Marto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 04:11 PM   #87
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marto View Post
So far, what are our options for 4 channels radios:

Nomadio React
Futaba 4PK
...
you actually do not need a 4ch radio with dual esc. 3ch is fine.
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 05:41 PM   #88
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saguenay, Québec , Canada
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColbyTheKid View Post
you actually do not need a 4ch radio with dual esc. 3ch is fine.
You're right, but I also want rear steer on my Super Class so 4 is a must.

I was wondering what were my options on 4 channels radio wise ?

Nomadio React
Futaba 4PK
Anything else that I don't know of...
Marto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 09:07 PM   #89
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marto View Post
You're right, but I also want rear steer on my Super Class so 4 is a must.

I was wondering what were my options on 4 channels radio wise ?

Nomadio React
Futaba 4PK
Anything else that I don't know of...
The 4PK is a really good radio, I would get that. The nomadio is a tad cheaper, but as you read it drains batteries quick
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 12:01 AM   #90
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: im in iraq
Posts: 49
Default

can i build a 1.9 berg and what are they
thanks

Last edited by jrba; 07-06-2009 at 12:11 AM.
jrba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 08:27 AM   #91
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrba View Post
can i build a 1.9 berg and what are they
thanks
1.9 berg? If you wanted a 1.9 berg then you need to buy a cliff climber. Whats a berg?
The bergs are called Motor on Axles. Which means basically the motor is mounted on the axle, just using a gear box inside the axle. This way, it eleminates a transmission and driveshafts. That means you have to run double motors, and wire it up to run those motors. Also, the bergs run DIG, which you saw me explain up top, read through a bit and you will find out about DIG
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 07:20 AM   #92
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: australia
Posts: 26
Default

okay i have a berg kk 3.5 what do moveing the uper links in or out or up do to the setup

antzx14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 08:12 AM   #93
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

It basically just messes with how clocked your axle is. The rear is kindof a free for all, just clock it as much as possible, but on the front, your knuckles have to be straight up and down so you have good steering.
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 05:53 PM   #94
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saguenay, Québec , Canada
Posts: 18
Default

Another newbie question:

When everybody talk about smooth low speed response, slow speed handling, blah blah blah, why does it suddenly become important to have fast wheel spin (like when recommending a cobalt puller 7t)? Or in other words, when is fast wheel spin necessary?
Marto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 06:00 PM   #95
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hueytown, Alabama
Posts: 6,776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColbyTheKid View Post
1.9 berg? If you wanted a 1.9 berg then you need to buy a cliff climber.

I dont think they are legal in the 1.9 class though........
Rockcrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 06:01 PM   #96
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marto View Post
Another newbie question:

When everybody talk about smooth low speed response, slow speed handling, blah blah blah, why does it suddenly become important to have fast wheel spin (like when recommending a cobalt puller 7t)? Or in other words, when is fast wheel spin necessary?
Sometimes, dig doesnt allways help you on downhills, so you need the power to keep the truck upright while going down. Also when you roll over, the more power the better chance you have at rocking your truck back into a rock, or even back onto all 4's, like i used to do on carpet
sometimes, you just get in a predicimate where you need speed like if you are running out of time and need to get to another part of the course. Normally a 45t motor with a 3cell lipo is awesome
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 12:14 AM   #97
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Still willing to help! Im like doctor freaking phil
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 12:35 AM   #98
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Surprise, Az
Posts: 848
Default

Wheel speed definitely comes in handy when you need to launch a gap that will swallow a tire also

My random question...Why don't they countersink the inside beadlock rings on berg offset wheels? Would make them more user friendly for those without the ability...had to countersink 56 holes tonight...
Failedabortion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 01:07 AM   #99
WOOPOOW!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Failedabortion View Post
Wheel speed definitely comes in handy when you need to launch a gap that will swallow a tire also

My random question...Why don't they countersink the inside beadlock rings on berg offset wheels? Would make them more user friendly for those without the ability...had to countersink 56 holes tonight...
My mayhem spiders are counter sunk :p
Colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 03:51 AM   #100
Who's your Daddy-0!
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Augusta
Posts: 5,009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marto View Post
You're right, but I also want rear steer on my Super Class so 4 is a must.

I was wondering what were my options on 4 channels radio wise ?

Nomadio React
Futaba 4PK
Anything else that I don't know of...
You can always go with a DX5 also, $99 5 channel stick Spektrum TX I use the DX6i but if you want to spend less $ the DX5 is a winner
TattooKenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
axial, berg, help noob, whats a dig?, whats clod stall?



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com