Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: RC4WD R2 X-Mission

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2009, 08:02 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default RC4WD R2 X-Mission

Can someone explain to me what is the deal with these transmissions? I am going to be building a 1.9 F-350 SCX scale crawler, and I am looking for a low profile so that I can install an interior and not have to worry about it being destroyed by the spur gear.

I don't know if the x-mission is identical to that of the AX-10, but I assume it is. I was working on a scale rig before, but went comp instead. But while I was working on the scale thing, I noticed that the giant spur got in the way of the interior.

Any other tips so that i can get an interior on the f-350 hardbody would be greatly appreciated. I want to do this right as I have a lot of experience working with plastic models and this should be do-able.

Keep in mind that my tools are limited to an exacto blade and a dremel, as I am in Iraq and don't have access to the sweet stuff like lathes and band saws.
FireWire79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-11-2009, 02:18 AM   #2
Who's your Daddy-0!

Use a Axial trans as a transfer case, put a gear reduction on your motor and run it to the Axial. No spurs to worry about. Plus you can get the motor closer to the front of your rig. Raceway Hobbies makes a transfer case as well as do other vendors on here. You have several options that you can do with that rig. Do some searching for the F-350 and look at other builds......
TattooKenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 11:38 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

The issue is that I plan on using a 12t motor and XL5 ESC from a Slash to get a little speed out of the rig. My issue with crawling before, was that it was slow. I've seen a few rigs on here using this setup and the ability to get about 25mph out of a scale trail rig would be fantastic.