Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: What parts do you keep on your Axial AX10 comp rig?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2009, 11:56 AM   #1
sim
Quarry Creeper

Default What parts do you keep on your Axial AX10 comp rig?

I'm a newbie of sorts. I started building a 2.2 crawler about four years ago and got a little stuck (couldn't figure out how to attach slider shafts to what I made and was actually considering using dogbones!)
I put it aside and then life distracted me from getting back to it for awhile.

That project thread was here and the official web page was here.

I recently got bitten by the crawler bug again when I saw it's possible to wrap up my ugly project by simply throwing some money at parts.

I did some reading and I think I'm very likely going to either finish up what I started or spend a little more and get Axial axles and start from there. I'm in Malaysia (no man's land as far as crawling is concerned), so everything will be bought online, and so far, I've found mostly Axial stuff on the stores that ship internationally. The third option of course would be to just get an Axial kit and mod as I go, but I hate the guilt that comes from having lots of useless parts sitting around reminding me of how much I've spent.

Ultimately, I want to end up with a capable rig, with a dig and freewheel option and not too much durability issues. So my noob question is: what parts of the AX10 kit will I likely be keeping?

Thanks in advance.
sim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-29-2009, 12:01 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

On my "Axial" comp rig....I bought only the axles and tranny and went from there. The axles were heavily modified and the trans is far from stock...

Nothing else is Axial.
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 03:20 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Axle housings, trans shafts, spacers. I think that is about all that is left. Oh I forgot the wheel hexes.