Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Scratch Build Chassis

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2009, 09:24 PM   #1

Default Scratch Build Chassis

Im planning a scale rig that will be scratch built, chassis, body everything. Im new to scratch buidling a truck but i have messed with styrene and brazing in the past. I have a few questions: what would be a good material to make a chassis out of(aluminum?), and should it be c-channel or just flat stock. Also, can i just make the chassis completely straight or do i have to make curves or whatever where the axles will go for more travel?(i guess that kinda answers the questoin, but im not positive) i plan to just braze everything together as far as braces skid plates and cross members are concerned.
-thanks
redlineryno is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-18-2009, 11:44 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

i would go 1/2 square tube and bend it into shape then cut it down the middle. You do not have to have all the bends but the closer to the real thing the better. But pretty much on a scratch build its whatever floats your boat.
TANK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 12:03 AM   #3

instead of bending, i was thinking maybe doing angles, you know like 45*'s or somethin and either brazing together the pieces or cutting it out like that. problem is i dont have a band saw.. i saw on some other 6x6 builds people just doin flat frames and that would work too because i could just attatch brackets for my links. im open to any suggestions/better ideas though..
Old 08-19-2009, 12:34 AM   #4
Rock Stacker