RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Newbie General (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/newbie-general/)
-   -   Charger - Reviews / What to look for (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/newbie-general/215454-charger-reviews-what-look.html)

Notpalc 12-07-2009 04:20 PM

Charger - Reviews / What to look for

I am sure it's been asked 1000x and I am not looking and searching in the right place.

Are there any recommendations on chargers or review? What exactly should one look for? Adjustability? Types of battery Nihm or Lipo? AC / DC?

My background is that I have just got a stock AX10 Scorpion kit and have two 1800 batteries - but I don't have a charger. Makes it a little tough to run. I plan on upgrading to a brushless motor and maybe go lipo in the future (right now I am need of a charger and then going to upgrade the chassis). I might also plan to build a rig from scratch - so I would like to have any option open without having to buy another charger. I may get into building my own batteries, but from what I can tell it looks like people build them out there for cheaper than I could buy the parts.

Now from my younger days, when I had a 4WD Kyosho Javelin, it was best to let the charger trickle (less amps) the battery to get a good charge. It seems today though you can charge a battery in about 12 - 15 mins. I would say this would deteriorate the battery - but I don't know how many runs you would get - are we talking the difference of 5% more runs or 75%?