Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Wal-Mart to Crawler Conversion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2010, 10:44 PM   #1

Cool Wal-Mart to Crawler Conversion

Hello all! I am fairly new to R/C Climbing... I bought a Wal-Mart R/C Truck:http://www.amazon.com/Maisto-Radio-C...ref=pd_sbs_t_2

Im planning to make this thing absolutely SICK... Lower gearing, bigger motor, and take that awful plastic brush guard off.. Stock suspension set (for now)

Any tips and tricks I need to know about doing a conversion like this?
Climber is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-07-2010, 10:50 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

well most guys on here are most likely going to tell you to go to your garbage can and toss it down there but im not going to.... but what i will tell you is that if you want to do that thing you can but if i were you i would buy a kit from rc4wd...just my thoughts...

and before someone flames you for it its rock CRAWLING just helpin you out...and welcome to the money stealing addiction!
RuberDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 10:52 PM   #3
Rock Crawler

you could keep the body, and scrap everything else, and build a sweet scaler with the JK 2 door body, depending on it's actual size.
LDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 10:55 PM   #4

Just because it starts out as a piece of trash doesnt mean it cant be made into a SICK machine, E.G. My snowmobiles for instance, Take a really old piecer, mod it then it goes 150mph or take an old car, fix it up mod it, and take it to the dragstrip, pretty much anything is possible... And of course im gonna put a lift on it before you ask lol... I dont necessarily care for others opinions on what I have...

Happy Trails!!!
Climber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 12:18 AM   #5
Rock Crawler

umm, i think your going about it all wrong. No lift, Low and Slow. keep the body, buy a nice kit man! you get what you pay for