Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Comp classes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2010, 07:07 PM   #1

Default Comp classes

I have a question about the competition classes.
First Im new to r/c crawling but I did 1:1 rockcrawling in my Jeep and been in r/c a long while. I read where the sportsman class only allows 2ch radios, I was thinking about getting the LCC which needs 3ch. Should I start out in the sportsman class or is the 2.2 class something I might have a chance in?

Can the LCC be run in the sportsman class with the dig disabled so when I move up I can use it? Or should I just start with a LNC? Don
weasel_ugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-26-2010, 07:45 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

You can run 3 channel gear in the sportsman class, you just can't used that 3rd channel. You are limited to steering and throttle only. The best thing to do is to pull the servo wire from the RX and physically lock the dig into the 4wd position.
Greatscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 07:46 PM   #3
Rock Crawler

I am also very new but driving with a dig is the only way to go but I don't plan on winning in either class. I went ahead for the dig so that I would have more practice in a class that I would like to someday compete in. just my thoughts.
Grimreeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 08:27 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimreeper View Post
I am also very new but driving with a dig is the only way to go but I don't plan on winning in either class. I went ahead for the dig so that I would have more practice in a class that I would like to someday compete in. just my thoughts.
Don't sell yourself short my man...anyone can win on any given day and it's not always about gear

If you understand some basic fundamentals of crawling you have as much of a shot as anyone else.