Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Newb Honco TR Questio ns

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2010, 11:03 AM   #1

Default Newb Honco TR Questio ns

Hello, I am pretty new to RC stuff. I messed around a little with helicopters last year until I got tired of crashing into the light and chopping light bulbs. My boys have a Slash 2 and a 1/16 E-Revo 2.4 that are fun for them, but once I drive around fast for a while I loose interest.

I've been thinking about getting a rock crawler/trail rig since that looks like more fun, plus I can dink around in the house too with it. Slowing going over obstacles looks more fun then hitting them at 30MPH and flying through the air.

I went to a couple of my LHS's and spoke to the gents there. They both recommended getting an AXIAL SCX10 TR, either the Honcho or the Jeep. One of the LHS guys mentioned one of the TR setups had a different wheelbase then the other. He also said he thought I would enjoy scale more then comp, which he explained but I really still don't know why that would be. After heading home and doing some research I see there are kits too.

My questions are:

Is one of the RTR kits better then the other in relation to wheelbase? Jeep or Honcho?

I am still pretty new to RC's, so I am not sure I feel comfortable getting the kit and adding electronics, but know I will want to upgrade soon. Right off I would like to go with a 2.4 radio kit...just seems easier. If I get the RTR kit can I just upgrade to 2.4 with a TX/RX or is more involved?

Thanks.
deeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-06-2010, 04:01 PM   #2
RCC Addict

The TR Dingo has a wheelbase of 11.4" while the TR Honcho has a wheelbase of 12.3", they are pretty much the same except for the wheelbase and obvious body differences. Upgrading to a 2.4 system is as easy as replacing the stock receiver with the 2.4 one and plugging the motor, servo and lights into it.